We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't waste your time or money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Melrose Park, IL
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Melrose Park
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

1st of all this used to be a days inn and it was ok then a few years ago. Now its smelly, dark, unsecured, all type of people and behavior all night, a club on the first floor by the lobby that allows ANYONE to come in whether or not they have a booked room and this club gives access to the entire hotel so anyone can just be walking around. The security cameras that are visible at the front desk showed only about 10 videos from about 20 cameras. The lobby looks clean and nice- yea well wait until you go to your room. The front desk associate stated that they were under renovation- WHERE- there were no signs and every room was occupied so how is it under renovation when your entire hotel is booked.

My room 157- the heater didn't work no fan no ac no nothing- the shower was luke warm luckily I didn't mind a cold shower. I called to complain they said well you can talk to the manager tomorrow in the morning. I asked for a frig and microwave they charged me extra- the guy comes brings the equipment and pretty much drops it in the middle of the floor and said here. OK so I have to plug this up and move it accordingly.

The next day leaving- I complained they gave me 25% off but still charged me tax so that about came to only an 17% discount on the entire day. The lady states she refunded my card on 09/29/12 and tried to run it for a smaller amount- it wouldn't work and she was trying to figure it out so I got pissed and took money out of the atm and paid cash. She assured me that the money would be there... its now 6 days later my money is still on hold and the front desk is rude and unhelpful!

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME MONEY OR EFFORT--- SLEEP IN YOUR CAR BEFORE YOU GO HERE... TOTALLY DISGUSTED!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    28
    28
    76
See reviews for
27
23
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OAK LAWN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a horrible place to stay m glad I didn't have my family with me and this was just a bussness trip. I had other guests knocking at my door to borrow money to go get high. Hookers roaming around the hallways. I will never go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank YAZAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melrose Park hotels

Selah, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Pros: Very inexpensive, Free Hotel Shuttle, somewhat close to O'hare.
Cons: Shuttle smelled of Smoke. Front desk staff dismissive, poor communication skills (including english skills), and little knowledge of surrounding area. Loud noise coming from bar area with a fight occurring around midnight. Small Bathroom. Dated decor. Needs repainted. Pathetic "breakfast" with watery juice, no spoons, and poor selection. TV selections were few, not the same as the print outs in the room. Every vending machine was out of order. cigarette smoke filled rooms and hallways even in the non smoking areas. Doors slammed all night long.

Basically you can look at this hotel in one of two ways. 1) you are grateful for a place to stay and enjoy the savings on the pocketbook. You should stay here if you are used to roughin it or are very sure you can take care of yourself in any sketchy situation. 2) Avoid this place because the savings in money is not worth the discomfort and hassle. Do not bring small children, teenage girls, or anyone who is a little more dainty.

Room Tip: choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVERLAND PARK
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I sent a complaint through your Wyndham website. Overall experience is bad. I really appreciate if the refund is partly/fully given.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank SAI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was looking for a cheap hotel in the suburbs to avoid traffic.
This hotel was cheap and disgusting. I was locked into my room because of a malfunctioning lock, but the exterior doors would not lock to keep people out of the hotel. The bathroom floor looked like a hail storm came through and bashed the tiles to pieces. The bed sheets were just that two sheets, no fitted sheets, and there was a BLOOD STAIN on the bottom section of the one. Going to sleep was not hard, if you like club beats sounding off around you, the "night club" or bar in the hotel was in full swing until later in the evening. It did give you something to listen to though since the tv had about 5 channels of the 30 listed that actually came in, the rest were nice direct tv logos flying around the screen as if someone forgot to pay their bills.
I figured going to breakfast would be easy enough, as I passed a pile of trash in the hallway spilling from a guests room. Breakfast was good (hard to screw up a bagel), but checkout was by far my favorite activity as I knew I would never be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank MattSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here i came from Lubbock. The staffs were very nice. The breakfast was great. The front staff clerk was very slow and non responsive. he was too old too work in the front desk. the bar was overcrowded and noisy. Overall value for money. T

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shybu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just returned from here. First, I had no issue with the desk staff or the shuttle driver to the airport. Though the shuttle did look to be his own personal vehicle with a sticker slapped on it. Other than that, this place is disgusting, it is beyond filthy. The hallways are filthy, decrepit and show no maintenance or care. The carpet in the hallways in many places is barely attached to the floor. The room was disgusting, filthy does not describe the room. The carpet was torn, there were gross stains everywhere, the furniture chipped and cracked, the walls were worn with marks and holes everywhere. The bathroom vanity was held together with drywall screws and caulk. One towel had an awful stain, even I suppose though washed - perhaps they need to discover bleach. The AC cycled continuously between loud creaking blaring of noisy cold, silence then again the jarring mechanical tornado - continuously. There were people shouting and banging on doors at well past 2:00 AM. I could barely tolerate the idea of getting changed to get into the bed. The thought was almost noxious. This is what happens when a very basic budget motel slides into some nether world well below basic budget. Basically, most suitable for the desperate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avgjoeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose Park
1.0 mi away
Regal Inn Chicago-O'hare Airport Franklin Park
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Chicago/Rosemont/O'hare/SE
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus O'Hare International South Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Carleton of Oak Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Melrose Park, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Melrose Park, IL

Property: Motel 6 Melrose Park, IL
Address: 1900 N. Mannheim Road, Route 64, Melrose Park, IL 60160 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Illinois > Melrose Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Melrose Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Melrose Park, IL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Melrose Park, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge o`Hare/Chicago Hotel Melrose Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing