We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Cafe

Dixie Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in McLean
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
McLean, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“much better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

this place was the best 20 years ago and was horrible the last 10 but now is so much better it needs to be tried,

Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    13
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I was heading south and stopped back at the Dixie Cafe for a meal. This time I ordered off the menu and everything was tasty! My server was amazing, taking care of everything before I could even ask. I love this restaurant; it's so open and welcoming. Stop in when you get a chance.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Central Illinois”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

My family and I stopped here after a long day of driving and were pleasantly surprised. The food was great and there was plenty of it. Prices were right too. The owner was even there and stopped to talk to us for a while...how often does that happen nowadays? The restaurant was also very clean, which is important to us. I highly reccomend stopping there if driving down I-55.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zigmant33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I can't believe I haven't stopped here before!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

This place has new owners and management and everything is SO MUCH better! My server was so sweet and courteous. The buffet was really good. If you have thought this is not the place to stop then you are wrong! Get up out of your chair and go try them again! Every time I am in Mclean this is where you will find me, day or night!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

i have ate at Dixies for years. it keep getting progressively worse. last time was it for me. i was sitting at the counter, looked down and a ROACH the size of my thumb was on my toast...like he was in his own home. i remember all the great meals i had there, and to see it now, makes me sick. i love broasted chicken , my favorite, but thier chicken is entirely different. i tried the one in Tuscola before it closed, it was just as bad. how they got past the health Dept is beyond me. i hate to say it, but it needs closed down and tore down.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magna1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing