We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What was in this soup?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Town

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #63 of 107 Restaurants in McHenry
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
McHenry, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What was in this soup?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I'm never expecting a spectacular 5-star meal when I order Chinese take-out food. That's what's so great about it. China Town in McHenry left me confused.
We couldn't decide between Won Ton or Egg Drop soup so we decided to get the best of both worlds in Won Ton Egg Drop Soup. It was disgusting. I don't know if they just threw a bunch of egg whites in to make the broth but it was thick, goopy, and tasteless.
I ordered Beef Lo Mein because I was in the mood for noodles but there weren't a ton of noodle options. This was OK but plain. Nothing exciting and not something I would order again.
My boyfriend got Sesame Beef which was really delicious if all you're looking for is flavorful Chinese take-out food. The portion was HUGE too.
We also had to try the Pork Egg Rolls and they were amazing too.
It's so hard to decide how to rate it but the disturbing soup is what left an impression on me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasty and inexpensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We have been frequenting this place since it opened. The food is good, the portions are enormous and the prices are very reasonable. It's not fancy-it's located in a kind of forgotten strip mall and the decor is nothing special-but the food is tasty and plentiful. My favorite is the hot and sour soup!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel4funIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I order from here regularly. Always a great take out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great food. Friendly people. Everything is always ready on time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank timporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“2ND Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Not bad in a pinch if you don't feel like getting from Plum Garden

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vinny1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, quick Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

They have my favorite General Tso's chicken. Of all the Chinese restaurants I have been too, their extra spciy General Tso's chicken is the best. It's kind of like a fast food Chinese restaurant that has been there for years but outstanding food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Town also viewed

 

Been to China Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing