We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always delicious”
Review of The Green Peapod

The Green Peapod
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in McHenry
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
McHenry, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Although I am stuck on my favorites at the restaurant, everything that friends have ordered has been delicious. The rice soup with added chicken is almost a meal in itself. The Pad Bah Mee with tofu is my favorite entree. For appetizers, the sampler is a very good choice.
P.S. The cosmos that they make there are excellent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkatzenmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Service, Poor Food Quality”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have gone to this restaurant before because my husband likes their fried rice. Ordered a noodle dish and my husband and I were served separately and his was cold before my noodle gloppy mess was brought to me. I love this particular dish and have never been served anything that looked like left-overs. The manager was indignant that I would comment but I never would have allowed a dish like that to have left my kitchen at home - my heat overs don't look like that. There was water from, I'm assuming under drained vegetables, surrounding the plate. The owner left my table and still continued loudly making comments to others and the cook staff which I found embarrassing and inappropriate. My comments were made discretely to her, never wishing to ruin anyone elses experience. Attitude is part of my eating out experience and I expect, as I treat others with respect, that although she may not have agreed with my thoughts, as a guest and paying customer I should have been treated with respect and courtesy. It is not a place that I would recommend despite being voted "best" for something - it wasn't for attitude, service or consistent food quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
“New To McHenry”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This place was excellent. The food was great, the atmosphere was very calming and clean. Definitely worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food is very fresh and delicious! Great choices, prices and very friendly atmosphere!
Whether you are looking for a traditional meal, vegetarian or vegan the menu offers a variety of dishes to choose from!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gem in McHenry and it's Thai!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great spot. One would never expect to find a good Thai restaurant in rural northern Illinois. I always get great food and service. The atmosphere and decor are pleasant and open. I like a lot of the food. Favorite appetizers are Mama's tofu, fish cakes and chive dumplings. I'm also a fan of the cucumber salad. Pad thai, pad see ew and pad kee mao are recommended. The red and green curries are really good. If you like fish, the red snapper is excellent. I don't believe you will be disappointed. They are very careful on the spice so be sure to make your preferences known.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Peapod also viewed

 

Been to The Green Peapod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing