We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland Mexican Food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Main Street Station
Ranked #17 of 108 Restaurants in McHenry
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mchenry Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bland Mexican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Atmosphere is more like a cafe than a restaurant. When I walked through the front door, I thought that I had walked into a back entrance. Ripped seats, cheap silverware and plastic glasses. Definitely not romantic. I ordered the chef's special which was stuffed poblano peppers. Not so special. The peppers were covered in boring tomatoe sauce. Rice and beans were flavorless. Lots of food, but boring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coghlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“LOVE Main Street Station!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I frequent this restaurant often. The best Mexican food in McHenry, hands down. Great food, great portions, great service, great value. Occasionally it can get busy and the service slows a little, but it is worth it because the food is always delicious and they have the best salsa! Love this place, can't go wrong. They even have a small section of the menu for people who don't want Mexican cuisine, however we've never tried it so I can't speak to how that is, but the Mexican food is absolutely fabulous and priced very well. We will continue to go back again and again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChcgoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food - reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very good Mexican food - at very reasonable prices. Housed in the old train station building and 'train' themed inside. A little different for a Mexican place, but the food is freshly made, to order, and the portions are generous. Decent selection of drinks and beers, also reasonably priced. A little hidden gem in McHenry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Love the theme of the trains. The food is delicious! The staff is friendly and the prices are reasonable. The portions are generous.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyF341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You would never know!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I went here with low expectations because of the look of the place- right next to a train station and junky apartments- But i was extremely suprised. Everything was very good and authentic, fajitas and burritos are amazing and the guac is really cool too! and its service is fast and pleasant and fairly inexpensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tataButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Station also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing