We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“McHenry's Hidden Gem”

Moraine Hills State Park
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“McHenry's Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A great place to hit the trails! We went with the 3.2 mile trail and wish we had more time so we could tack on the other 3.7 mile trail. Lovely park, courteous bikers and hikers.

Some of the path were paved and some were gravel. As a hiker I preferred the gravel. A beautiful spectrum of nature.

The trail is easy and since you share with bikers, there is a set direction of traffic, which is very civilized.

Definitely check out the board walk near the Nature Center. I can't wait to do the trails as a cross country skier this winter!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMontalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mchenry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful State Park”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a beautiful , yet not busy or crowded park. There are lots of trails to do here, some by water and some thru wooded area. Some are just in the open too. You can drive thru if you would rather and just look. There are parks for the kids and places to have picnics. It is really nice and you will enjoy it!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great scenic park”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Whether you are walking your dog, jogging, or riding your bike on the trails, there is something for everyone who loves the outdoors. I have been visiting this park for 10+ years and highly recommend utilizing all that the park has to offer. Autumn is my favorite time to visit. Mosquitos can be brutal during summer months.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank teri_from_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hiking & Biking w/ Nature”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful place to hike/bike while enjoying all that nature provides. The trails are well-maintained. Our son helped create these as a high schooler working with the CCC.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“uncrowded, peaceful place”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The area around Lake Defiance is a treasure. Lily pads, red-wing blackbirds, cattails...and an easy-to-travel wooden walkway floating right out to the lake...

We had a pleasant afternoon there. There were also young families fishing; one boy gleefully showed us the catfish and dogfish he had caught.

Nice that Illinois still has the state park system for us to get our "fixes" of nature.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Moraine Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing