We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, good food, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Snuggery

The Snuggery
Ranked #14 of 107 Restaurants in McHenry
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wauconda, IL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went on a Saturday night for dinner. Food was great, service was great, too. As the night wore on, it was apparent that it was a younger bar crowd, but it didn't bother us "old folks"!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mashed potatoes with a river view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Yep they serve wonderful mashed potatoes and they are right on the Fox River.
You can eat outside and watch the boats. What I love with my potatoes is, the
beer can chicken oh yeah. Nice and friendly wait staff

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merrylargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decnt place during nice weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Know that you need to park across the street. This is a nice place from enjoy nice weather and watch boaters along the river. Sitting inside is a bit too loud for normal conversation, the outside patio is definitely where you want to be.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank awesomedynamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable atmosphere, great food, terrific view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Whether you eat inside or out, you have a great view. My favorite is the patio that seat almost up the the edge of the piers. My only complaint is that the music is way too loud and hard rock/hip-hoppy at lunch. The crowd is much older then, and the music should be taylored to that. Leave the loud electronica dance tunes for the evenings when the crown is young. However, we did make a comment to our server who had it turned down..just a touch lower was all that was needed, but I have a feeling that we weren't the only ones who mentioned it.
The food has been terrific everytime I've gone...salads are fresh and plentiful, Jessica's Chicken and Avocado sandwich on your choice of bread is one of my favorites, and you just can't do any better than their Pot Roast!!! Just like Mom used to make - or in my case - Dad! We've never felt rushed for quick turn-over, but have been left alone (with the occasional checking to see if we needed more beverage - refills free on pop, iced tea and lemonade) to chat after finishing our meal. Going again tomorrow for lunch as a matter of fact!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nice lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The wife and I decided to go there for lunch and we sat outside being a nice day we were seated and our waitress came soon there after, we ordered some drinks and then after we had our drinks we ordered our food i had the "Beef-eater" sandwich which is like an itailian beef with chedder cheese and ajus dipping gravy, it was very good the beef was tender and tasty! my wife ordered the spicy ranch grilled chicken salad she said it was excellent as well. it was nice sitting outside not too many flies there were ducks coming up looking for scraps we gave them some crakers (the bus boy gave them to us) overall we will come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chooch1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snuggery also viewed

 

Been to The Snuggery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing