We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    131
    58
    19
    23
See reviews for
217
51
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel is in need of a renovations, but I can accept that. Cannot accept mold in bathroom or along wall in sleeping area. Breakfast was minimum, but was ok for a quick something before hitting the road again.

Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Firstly, I would like to apologize for anything less than perfection as far as your room is concerned. You are correct in saying the condition was unacceptable and I hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again as we are about to begin renovating the hotel and implementing an expanded breakfast within the next few months.

Thank you for taking a moment to give your feedback and we hope you give us another try. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know!


Kindly,

Hannah Bugle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel was very nice though it was a "EVENT weekend" so I know from past stays that they RAISED the prices and even though we were anyway they wouldn't book unless we stayed there for 2 nights which I believe is really silly! I know college events are a time for money making but I think it is not right for customers who stay at your hotel or branches of hotel on a regular basis...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Randall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. I do apologize that you were unhappy with the 2 night minimum policy. We do not put it in place to upset anyone, but we do it so the people that are coming for the whole weekend have the opportunity to keep their room both nights and do not have to seek alternate accomodations. We hope that you understand and would love for you to stay with us the next time you are here. Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback and if we can do anything else for you, please let us know!


Thank You,

Hannah Bugle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Traveling with two grandchildren, ages 4 and 7, along with the family dog can be stressful at times. Our motel was a welcomed sight after ten hours on the road. The kids loved the swimming pool as well as the "hot pool." Amazingly, they also enjoyed the variety of foods available for breakfast. All in all, we will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We are so glad that your entire family enjoyed their stay! Thank you for taking some time to give us your feedback and positive comments! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Hannah Bugle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

taking grandson to eastern illinois univ. for an open house. baymont very close and affordable. Front desk personnel were very helpful. resteraunts were very close and motel was far enough away from the interstate to be quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your Mattoon hotel. We hope you had a nice visit to the area and appreciate you taking the time to write in your positive comments about your stay! I hope your grandson enjoyed his college visit and you can come stay with us when you come down to cheer on the panthers! GO EIU! Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Hannah Bugle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#2 of 9 in Mattoon
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#5 of 9 in Mattoon
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
21 reviews
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Charleston
Days Inn Charleston
#1 of 2 in Charleston
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
Address: 206 McFall Rd, Mattoon, IL 61938-6210 (Formerly Fairfield Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mattoon
#3 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#5 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baymont Inn & Suites in Mattoon, Illinois is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for business or leisure you can enjoy your heated swimming pool and hot tub, free wireless internet in every room, free HBO and cable, and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with a Complimentary Enhanced Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Mattoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing