We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is in an area of a few hotels. Hotel is older but clean. I paid for the bigger room. It's nice. Not sure how the others are set up but convenient location right off I 57. Breakfast area is very updated and spacious. Looks like it was just renovated.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travel2004Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you were able to see our newly renovated lobby. While the construction side is complete, there are still a few items we are waiting on to complete the project. We are excited for our guests to see the final results. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 335 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

This Hampton hotel is excellent! Rooms are spacious and spotless. Beds are very comfortable! High speed internet really is high speed! Staff very friendly! Breakfast buffet is awesome! We've stayed here before and will continue to stay here when we visit the Mattoon area. Thanks Hampton and Hilton!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here. I will be sure to let the staff see your wonderful comments so they can see the good work they are doing. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a nice stay, as always, at the Hampton Inn Mattoon. I'm down here for a journalism conference each year and make a point of staying at this hotel. Clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, easy check in and check out, reasonable prices, just a nice place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. We appreciated your patience as we finished with the construction of our new lobby! I'm happy to hear you enjoy staying here every year and our great service doesn't change. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is in terrible condition. The breakfast is terrible and there is no place to sit and enjoy the morning. The lobby is nearly impassable and guests should never be allowed in the lobby. The noise on the lower floor is constant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I understand that you were inconvenienced by some of the construction you experienced while staying with us. As you could tell we are currently going through renovations of our lobby and I do regret if this caused you any inconveniences. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

We always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and I can assure you that your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise.

Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one night and had no problems. The hotel staff was friendly, the room was clean, and we had no complaints. There are several restaurants (Wendy's, Cody's Roadhouse, Waffle House) adjacent to the hotel [you could walk, we drove]. Wi-fi in the room was fast. I noticed a minor problem with the shower in our room, and upon checking out, I mentioned it to the desk clerk so maybe someone might want to look at it. The Clerk listened intently and wrote down exactly what I relayed to her. That impressed me, and I suspect the problem got fixed not long after we left. I recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. We're always glad to hear about anything our guests experience during their stays. I will be sure to pass your review on to the rest of the staff so they can see what a great job they are doing. We recently upgraded our Wi-fi so I'm glad to hear it's running smoothly. If there is anything you can think of that would have made your stay better, please let us know. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope you get a chance to stay with us again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Clean, well maintained hotel. Traveled with my nieces and got the spot next door to the pool which they loved. The hotel is conveniently located off the interstate with shopping and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Unlike a lot of hotels, even located next to the breakfast area and pool we heard very little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slourash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. Happy to see your nieces had a great time in the pool. If there is anything you can think of that could make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stopped at the Mattoon Hampton Inn after a very long day on the road. Jo at the front desk was very nice about a special request. Beautiful room and my benchmark for a great ammenity,a bathroom nightlight was met, Great night on the gold standard Hampton Inn's bed. keep up the good work

Room Tip: 3rd floor in back, away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you as our guest. I was happy to see that Jo was able to accommodate your request to ensure a pleasant stay. I will sure to pass this along to the rest of our staff. Thank you for staying at the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope you get a chance to stay with us again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#6 of 9 in Mattoon
83 reviews
6.8 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mattoon

Address: 1416 Broadway Ave E, Mattoon, IL 61938-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mattoon
#2 Family Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range: $107 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hampton Inn Mattoon, IL hotel, located just 2 miles from downtown and close to many restaurants and shopping, including the Tanger Outlet Center. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Mattoon Hotel Mattoon
Mattoon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing