We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Mattoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Russellville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one night and had no problems. The hotel staff was friendly, the room was clean, and we had no complaints. There are several restaurants (Wendy's, Cody's Roadhouse, Waffle House) adjacent to the hotel [you could walk, we drove]. Wi-fi in the room was fast. I noticed a minor problem with the shower in our room, and upon checking out, I mentioned it to the desk clerk so maybe someone might want to look at it. The Clerk listened intently and wrote down exactly what I relayed to her. That impressed me, and I suspect the problem got fixed not long after we left. I recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We're always glad to hear about anything our guests experience during their stays. I will be sure to pass your review on to the rest of the staff so they can see what a great job they are doing. We recently upgraded our Wi-fi so I'm glad to hear it's running smoothly. If there is anything you can think of that would have made your stay better, please let us know. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope you get a chance to stay with us again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    77
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
101
58
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Clean, well maintained hotel. Traveled with my nieces and got the spot next door to the pool which they loved. The hotel is conveniently located off the interstate with shopping and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Unlike a lot of hotels, even located next to the breakfast area and pool we heard very little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slourash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. Happy to see your nieces had a great time in the pool. If there is anything you can think of that could make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stopped at the Mattoon Hampton Inn after a very long day on the road. Jo at the front desk was very nice about a special request. Beautiful room and my benchmark for a great ammenity,a bathroom nightlight was met, Great night on the gold standard Hampton Inn's bed. keep up the good work

Room Tip: 3rd floor in back, away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you as our guest. I was happy to see that Jo was able to accommodate your request to ensure a pleasant stay. I will sure to pass this along to the rest of our staff. Thank you for staying at the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope you get a chance to stay with us again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel staff is vey pleasant and has always provided excellant service and care. We make many trips to the area as we have two children at Eastern Illinois University which makes the stay at this hotel quite convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was great. stayed on 3rd floor it was quite. The kids enjoyed swimming. The breakfast was great. The hotel was close to the town. Many restaurant around. We will stay here again and with there 100% money back guarantee if your not happy you don't have to pay!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disney30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I'm happy to see you had a great stay. I'm also glad to hear your kids enjoyed swimming. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn. We're so glad we can be your friend in town.

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We couldn't get rooms in Bloomington or any of the large nearby cities, so we headed for Mattoon. This conveniently located Hampton Inn did not disappoint. And Lincoln's log cabin is nearby. Hampton Inns are pretty much alike, but as far as convenience, comfort, and cleanliness, this is one of the nicest. The hotel staff was very welcoming.

Room Tip: We didn't hear any noise from the highway and we were in a middle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are always happy to hear about our guest's experiences. I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your review with our staff. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times over the course of several years. They've always been considerate and accommodating. Although there are several hotels to select from in this area, we constantly seek out this one. It is comfortable, friendly, clean, and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmorgan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always love hearing feedback from our repeat guests. It is always nice to know that our hard work is noticed. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#5 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Charleston
Days Inn Charleston
#1 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
6.8 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mattoon

Property: Hampton Inn Mattoon
Address: 1416 Broadway Ave E, Mattoon, IL 61938-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mattoon
#2 Family Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hampton Inn Mattoon, IL hotel, located just 2 miles from downtown and close to many restaurants and shopping, including the Tanger Outlet Center. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Mattoon Hotel Mattoon
Mattoon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing