We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly waiters great food!”
Review of El Vaquero

El Vaquero
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly waiters great food!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We eat here several times a week. Always treat family and out of towners to a meal here. Great food. Even better service!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Midwest Mexican food ”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I ate here on a current business trip to the area after reading the reviews on trip advisor. The reviews were spot on. The food was excellent and quick. I had fajitas and they were some of the best I have ever had in the Midwest. They also have a full bar. Great place to stop, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank gastonglock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattoonMikki81, Owner at El Vaquero, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy you enjoyed El Vqauero! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Clearly very popular, nice Mexican, better than most!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot, and I happened to be here in Mattoon for a few days and decided to try El Vaquero. Chile relleno was very good, a part of the El Vaquero combo, which was excellent. The ground beef was a little dry but everything was fresh and tasty. It was much like a 100 other Mexican restaurants in the Midwest, but they definitely try harder and they are quite good. Service was slow, but they were extremely busy on this Thursday night, so I was fine with that. I'd recommend it. Salsa was a little bland, but a little Cholula hot sauce did the trick.

Helpful?
1 Thank gliddle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in town.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are regular visitors to this restaurant we live in town but I can tell you that this is hands-down the best Mexican restaurant in the town of Mattoon you won't be disappointed eating here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyjsbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth A Stop Off I-57”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

As a recent vegan I am constantly in search of a really tasty veggie fajita. Tonight....I found it! The server was prompt and the kitchen delivered the perfect "spicy" veggie fajita's. Not just loaded with jalapeño but a great mix if veggies and just the tight amount of heat. I now have a permanent stop off on my travels down I-57.

The margarita was not just a lot of mix and their "spicy" salsa is worth the ask.

Enjoy!!

Helpful?
1 Thank PHKOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Vaquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing