We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS!!!”
Review of El Vaquero

El Vaquero
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great service and Great food! Plain simple fact GREAT! Our boys love this place and we have to agree! Every chance we get we are there!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravisNJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dekalb Cty
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pretty similar to other Mexican restaurants Ive been to. Food wad pretty tasty. Ordered a chicken dish with cheese and mushrooms and cheese. Vegetables were overcooked, burnt and really laden with fat. chicken really thin and overcooked. The rice and beans were tasty as were the chips and salsa. Will probably try Cody's next time as others in our group enjoyed that and spoke highly of it. Service was great and super quick. Hubby haf skeak tacos and was pleased with them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Homespn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We purchased take out and had to drive home with it and it was still hot hot hot when we arrived home to plate it up. The salsa was a little off but normally so delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BOOM”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food is Great, the survice is Great. My glass would get a little less then 1/2 an they come and ask if I need.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heavy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is nothing great. It's just your typical Mexican restaurant. The food is decent, the place is acceptably clean, and the service is ok.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vaquero also viewed

 

Been to El Vaquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing