We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of US Grant Motel

US Grant Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mattoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
US Grant Motel
Save
You added US Grant Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Illinois City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed in this place after we were refused a refund. The first room was a bit dusty and stunk. Then I went into the bathroom to discover the window had been broken. It looked like someones fist went through it. The desk clerk gave us a different room with no broken windows but the bathtub was extremely stained and gross. I couldn't believe that this place was in business. It was obvious that this hotel was used for making drugs or other illegal activities. I hope this gets noticed and something is done about it. This place is scary as hell and shouldn't be in business.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cass H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed here during a long drive looking for a cheap place for the night. Upon my arrival I was greeted very nicely by the office clerk and was given a decent room. Probably not the best in town but for the money it was great. There is also free wifi available on the premise which I did not expect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mobiledj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

OMG this is most discusting place ever! We spent $45.00 for filth! Mouse traps in the closet....mouse crap in the bed....blankets that are ripped hanging on the windows...along with broken windows and they don't even lock! Beware of this place! They shouldn't be in business!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank randa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mattoon hotels

Massachussetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Was looking for a cheap hotel, boy did I find it. No heat they turned the shower on when the space heater wasn't working, and gave us some extra blankets, the rest was bad before the whole heat thing but seems frivolous now. The rat the size of the little dog also haunts me, this place needs to be shut down!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelerwithkids38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#2 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
3.9 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mattoon
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#5 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to US Grant Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about US Grant Motel

Property: US Grant Motel
Address: 4001 US Highway 45, Mattoon, IL 61938-8926
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing