We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a Reasonable Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel has been totally upgraded in the past year and is superb! The rooms are all suites, furnished with top grade furniture and accessories (example-coffee mugs with the in-room coffee maker, rather than Styrofoam cups). Our king bed was wonderful with pillow top, and extra pillows. Night stand lights include a personal reading light, so you don't disturb the other sleeper. Flat screen TVs are located in the sitting area and the bedroom. The staff are knowledgeable, extremely helpful, and friendly. Room was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was way over expectations with hot and cold items, waffle maker, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. They have a nice pool and exercise room, too. A very nice motel and worth your visit if you want a good night's rest and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Restaurant a short walk away which gives discount for staying at this motel. Highly recommend this excellent hotel. A++ rating.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. We prefer 3rd floor so there's no foot traffic noise above us. The have an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Ron,

Thank You for such an honest and pleasant review, we're happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Your kind words and review are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our staff and others. By your response this shows that we're effectively taking care of our guests, giving them a "home away from home" kind of experience. Thank you again Ron for your review and we hope that you continue to make the right Choice by staying with CHOICE HOTEL properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Mattoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been driving from Wisconsin to Florida for many years and have stopped at many hotels along the route, this was our first time at this hotel and we will definitely stay again. We have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and have to say that this was one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed in. The bed was great, the shower was amazing, the hotel was very nice. It is also right next door to two restaurants, after a long day in the car, it is one of our top priorities to be able to walk to a restaurant, have a nice meal and a cold beer or glass of wine. We look forward to staying in the hotel on our way back to Wisconsin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Love2travel,

We would like to thank you for your stay. It means a lot to us that you took the time to write a review about us on trip advisor. You’re helping us in such a tremendous way by sharing your experience here with to the rest of the many travelers that are looking for a great place to stay! We look forward to fulfilling you travel needs here in the near future, so please feel free to contact us the next time you’re on your way to either Florida or Wisconsin or just stop in and have a cup of coffee or a bag of popcorn! Thank You again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a great stay!!! From my reception at check-in til the time I left, I was given the great service, response times, and food! The bed was extremely comfortable (making it hard to get up the next morning, since I slept so well!), and the room extremely clean and prepared! Once again, Comfort Suites, you did a 10 out of 10 for me!!!!

Room Tip: Comfort Inn's are always a great choice!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksmith40330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear KSmith,

We’re so happy to hear of such a pleasurable stay that you recently had with us, hopefully the next time you stay you can kind of sleep in a little bit. From time to time we get guests that do inquire about our mattresses and ask where we get them. They’re quite comfy! Here at the Comfort Suites we pride ourselves in providing the best customer service to that all walk through our doors whether guests or vendors. And we’re glad to have been able to have you as 1 of our guests. We look forward in seeing you again so don’t hesitate to give us a call and we will be more than happy to take care or your traveling needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I give the Mattoon Comfort Suites 4 stars out of 5. We were there for a baseball tournament in mid July 2013. The location was very convient and the hotel was clean and the staff were all very nice. There are several places to eat within walking distance as well as several that are less than 1 mile away. The rooms were spacious and up to date. The beds were not as comfortable as i would have liked but they still were decent. The staff allowed us to use the breakfast area as a meeting room during the evening for a couple of team meetings which was very nice. In the the mornings the breakfast area was very warm, it seemed like the AC either wasn't working or wasn't turned down enough to make it comfortable. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room away from the pool area. I could hear the kids outside of the pool...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Donnie,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we greatly appreciate your TripAdvisor review. By you taking the time to review our hotel shows us that you don;t only care about where you stay when you travel but also shows us that we met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you again and value your business. Please feel free to give us a call the next time your in town for your Baseball Tourneys and we will be more than happy to accomodate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've stayed here before and thoroughly enjoyed our time each trip. This time was no different. Room was clean, service was professional and polite. The free breakfast was good. I noted to the attendant in the breakfast area that the coffee was cold, and she promptly apologized and filled it with fresh hot brew. The only complaint I have is that the hotel will not offer corporate/special rate discounts on their whirpool suites. I can understand needing to keep them priced higher because of having to pay extra to clean them. However, other Comfort Suites in the state offer discounts on their whirpool suites so I'm not sure that argument holds water. They used to offer the discounts in the past so I'm not sure why this changed. Otherwise, this property is one of the better ones in Mattoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Harold, we would like to thank you for your recent stay here with us at the Mattoon IL, Comfort Suites. Your review and comments are greatly appreciated. By you taking the time to give us a review go to show that you care about the hotels that you choose to stay at during your travels. I do want to apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to utilize your corporate discount on our whirlpool suites, but unfortunately we don’t offer discounted rates on those types of suites. We will be more than happy to offer you one of our upgraded Kings suites at your corporate rate in the future. Again I do apologize and we hope to see you again here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This became my refuge from the storm as I was returning home from northern Illinois. Check in was "Yes, we have a room and if you need help getting luggage upstairs, no problem." This was in case I didn't want to use the elevator because of the stormy weather. I had stayed previously during a very active phase of the renovation at which time the staff was equally as welcoming and kind. When the storm took out the TV, the wonderful front desk staff made sure I knew what was going on weather wise. What a comfortable and safe feeling of being "home". All of the extra electrical receptacles are greatly appreciated. The take-it-with-you breakfast sack was great since I left after breakfast hours. Thank you to all the great staff for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Joyce, first and foremost we would like to thank you for being a wonderful guest of ours. At times the weather here in central Illinois can get a little crazy, and we’re exceptionally grateful to have been able to accommodate you during your travel home. As you have experienced during your recent stays with us, that we pride ourselves in assuring the best quality of customer care and satisfaction. Your happiness, safety, and comfort is our main focus in our daily operations. We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to review our Mattoon IL, hotel here on Trip Advisor. Your response lets our future guests and ourselves know the level of quality that we provide hasn’t gone unnoticed and WE appreciate that. Again Joyce on behalf of our staff here we would like to thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the only hotel my family and I stay in when we come to Charleston for my husbands family reunion! The entire hotel has been remodeled and it is gorgeous! The best part of the hotel is the service....Jonathan and Teri were wonderful in helping my family get our rooms for a busy weekend!!! Will stay there every year!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rynos_girl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for being our guest & sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I’m glad you enjoyed our remodeled guest rooms & customer service. We look forward to your return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#1 of 9 in Mattoon
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
1.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
24 reviews
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Charleston
Days Inn Charleston
#1 of 2 in Charleston
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Mattoon

Address: 1408 East Broadway, Mattoon, IL 61938-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mattoon
#3 Business Hotel in Mattoon
#5 Family Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range: $98 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that you and your guests will find the comfort you are looking for at the newly remodeled Comfort Suites Mattoon. The hotel's lobby as well as guest suites is designed to be sophisticated and welcoming, incorporating natural stone, rich wood tones and warm colors. Whether its business, adventure, or relaxation that brings you to Coles County the Comfort Suites Mattoon has you covered.The Comfort Suites Mattoon is conveniently located off of Exit 190B from I-57. Our all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the Mattoon business district and is within walking distance to several restaurants as well as shopping centers. Only minutes away from area attraction including Eastern Illinois University, Lake Land Collage, Lincoln Log Cabin, and Tanger Outlet Center. Enjoy the great outdoors with a walk through Douglas Hart Nature Center or Rockome Gardens, the stepping stone to Illinois Amish Country. The area's best fishing and boating can be found at Lake Mattoon or a short drive over to Lake Shelbyville. Our contemporary design and Hometown Hospitality feel welcomes all types of travelers. Both vacationers and business travelers will appreciate the extras we've added including triple sheeted bedding, flat panel HD televisions, queen sized sleeper sofas, microwaves and refrigerators in all guest suites. If business brings you to Mattoon, IL, we've added features designed to keep you productive on the road including complimentary high-speed Internet that ensures you're always connected with the home and office, an oversized desk accompanied by an ergonomic office chair and Your Suites Success Re-Charge Device. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mattoon Hotel Mattoon
Mattoon Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing