We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Mattoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family and I were looking for a place to stay on our way down South for Spring Break. We have 2 young children, and had a long road ahead of us. The people at this hotel are just wonderful people, and they made all of us wish we could stay longer. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was fantastic. Everything was clean and looked brand new, and we enjoyed visiting with the friendly people there. Breakfast was great, and they even helped me manage bringing food up to the rest of my family. My 3-year old son, was so impressed, he wanted to go back down for more. We felt the same about the entire experience. Now, we are looking for a reason to come back again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimV276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Jim, We are so glad that you enjoyed you stay at the newly renovated Comfort Suites in Mattoon. We are consistently striving for the great customer service & clean environment. Thank you for the Trip Advisor Recommendation. We look forward to having your family again on your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
10
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here recently, and the place was fabulous. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and so very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the are. One of the best stays we have ever had. A big A+ on this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you Kate R for taking the time to share your experience! I’m glad you found our recently remodeled guest rooms clean & our hotel staff friendly. We greatly appreciated the recommendation and hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Upon entering our room we did not notice anything except the couch was dirty. Since we were not going to be in the room that much and just over night we decided it would have to do. When we went to bed that night we notice the black dots. Did not sleep that night at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Gail, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Cleanliness is one of the key standards we hold ourselves to. I believe you’ve already spoken with our General Manager, Kim Berlin regarding your experience offline. If not, do not hesitate to contact me. We have taken the corrective measures needed and deep cleaned the room you stayed in. We hope that if you return to Mattoon you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A wonderful receptionist welcomed us in from the blizzard. She seemed not stressed in the least by the 12+ snow-covered new guests and quickly/smoothly checked all of us in as if she had expected us. The hotel became booked within 2 hours. The staff was kind every time I arrived at the front desk with a new request. The facilities are brand new and very clean. Kids loved the endless popcorn in lobby and I was thankful for the Bold coffee. Thanks for an enjoyable experience in the face of a seriously trying situation.

Room Tip: There was only 1 elevator and it's on one end of the hall--you don't want to be on the oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Juliewith4kids - Thank you for being our guest & sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about our staff’s friendliness & cleanliness of the hotel. We hope you thinking of us again on your next trip to Mattoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel in the area. Very clean, good breakfast, big rooms with fridges in all of them. Good pool, whirlpool and small workout room. Friendly staff. 2 restaurants within walking distance. Will stay again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank smicer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Manager at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
smicer1,

Thank you submitting a review on TripAdvisor! We're really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the newly remodeled Comfort Suites Mattoon! Thank you for the compliments on our hotel’s cleanliness & friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Mattoon, IL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is now completely renovated and the rooms are phenomal. The Hampton next door starts at $105.00 per night and this place is $89.00 per night and less with discounts. The rooms are fantastic and the staff was super. WIFI works great, food is fine and is simply a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor close to the pool and work out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffKimBurnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMidwestHotels, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to give us your feedback! We certainly pride ourselves on our fair prices and added values. I am glad you enjoyed the remodeled rooms and upgraded WIFI. Once again, thank you for staying with the Comfort Suites Mattoon, IL & if we can be of any further assistance, do not hesitate to contact us directly. We hope to see you again soon!

Respectfully,


Hannah Bugle
Director Of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#1 of 10 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Charleston
Days Inn Charleston
#1 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
6.8 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Mattoon

Property: Comfort Suites Mattoon
Address: 1408 Broadway Ave E, Mattoon, IL 61938-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mattoon
#3 Business Hotel in Mattoon
#5 Family Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Mattoon 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that you and your guests will find the comfort you are looking for at the newly remodeled Comfort Suites Mattoon. The hotel's lobby as well as guest suites is designed to be sophisticated and welcoming, incorporating natural stone, rich wood tones and warm colors. Whether its business, adventure, or relaxation that brings you to Coles County the Comfort Suites Mattoon has you covered.The Comfort Suites Mattoon is conveniently located off of Exit 190B from I-57. Our all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the Mattoon business district and is within walking distance to several restaurants as well as shopping centers. Only minutes away from area attraction including Eastern Illinois University, Lake Land Collage, Lincoln Log Cabin, and Tanger Outlet Center. Enjoy the great outdoors with a walk through Douglas Hart Nature Center or Rockome Gardens, the stepping stone to Illinois Amish Country. The area's best fishing and boating can be found at Lake Mattoon or a short drive over to Lake Shelbyville. Our contemporary design and Hometown Hospitality feel welcomes all types of travelers. Both vacationers and business travelers will appreciate the extras we've added including triple sheeted bedding, flat panel HD televisions, queen sized sleeper sofas, microwaves and refrigerators in all guest suites. If business brings you to Mattoon, IL, we've added features designed to keep you productive on the road including complimentary high-speed Internet that ensures you're always connected with the home and office, an oversized desk accompanied by an ergonomic office chair and Your Suites Success Re-Charge Device. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mattoon Hotel Mattoon
Mattoon Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing