We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“MW”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel staff are very helpful and accommodating. Excellent service from all the staff! Kim at the front desk helped us for a quick check-in, Arlene at the breakfast area is very friendly. Rooms are clean, highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Marissa W,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We love hearing guest feedback. Your experience with us is very valuable to our success. Thank you for recognizing two of are awesome employees. I will share this with them. We are glad you found our hotel clean and our service as excellent. Those are two of the best compliments in the hotel world. We hope your travels bring you back our way.

Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    36
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
30
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Il
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean. Check in was quick and all the staff were helpful. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. We were very impressed that there were gluten free choices for breakfast!


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EIUvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear EIU Visitor,

We are so excited to hear you liked our new gluten free products. The IHG Brand has listen to what the guest want and we are very thrilled to have some new healthy options. Our staff prides itself on maintaining a clean hotel for our guest to enjoy. We hope you will come see us again. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The continental breakfast contained many and varied items. There was something for everyone. All the said hello or good morning when they saw you. I have stayed here several times in the past and have always found it excellent and good value for your money.

Room Tip: We were next to the elevator on the second floor and we didn't hear it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thanks so much for telling the world about your amazing experience at our hotel.
We really pride ourselves in offering the best experience possible. We honored to be called the cleanest hotel you have ever stayed at. What a compliment! We hope your travels bring you back our way so we can provide you with another great experience.

Stephanie Packer
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Extremely clean, very friendly staff, over-large rooms. And as a previous reviewer noted, windows that open easily, allowing something other than the usual rarely-replaced-filters that plague so many hotel air systems. Really loved the lack of bolsters and questionable bed covers; everything was white and crisp except the foot warming blanket, which appeared clean and new. Breakfast was all right, lots of options. Wifi worked well, always a plus. Good for a family, too. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krashtest d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the property! We try our best to provide a clean atmosphere that guests can feel at home in. We are glad you were able to enjoy our amenities and we look forward to seeing you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteson, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I searched high and low to find a hotel in Mattoon that I would be satisfied with and a reasonable price. The Holiday Inn made it happen for me. Special thanks to the front desk staff. Looking forward to staying again next year. Thanks !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aesha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad we were able to help out! We look forward to seeing you again as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for the last 4 years. My daughter attended Eastern Illinois University and after trying a couple other area hotels the first year, we have only stayed here. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and the air conditioning works great which is important to my wife who likes the room at 65 degrees. I like to exercise so it is important to me that the exercise room equipment works properly which it does. Breakfast is available too. I recommend the sausage gravy & fresh bisquits.

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars, you can get a larger room with a sleeper sofa which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for positing this review and for being a loyal customer! We greatly value when our returning customers have such nice things to say about our property! Our staff has a strong commitment to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay and if they are not we will try our hardest to fix the situation! We enjoy having you at our property and just wanted to let you know, that if you bring your hotel key card to the local YMCA in town, they will allow you to use their facility that they have recently just rebuilt free of charge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheaton IL
Level Contributor
351 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a suite perfect for a family if 5 with teenage girls!! Rooms clean, large 2 queen & pull out couch/bed. Large bathroom lots of outlets for their electronic devices. They have a free breakfast plenty of room to sit and eat. Little more then continual, pancakes, pasties cereal, eggs, biscuits and gravy. It's free so it's not amazing but if you want that Cracker Barrel is in front of the hotel. Would be back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank zimrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review to TripAdvisor. We enjoy hearing positive feedback from our guests. We are glad that you had optimal space and outlets during your stay with us. We are glad you took advantage of our newly re-done breakfast bar and we hope to see you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#2 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#6 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
7.2 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Address: 121 Swords Dr, Mattoon, IL 61938-9758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#4 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Mattoon, Illinois boasts excellent facilities! Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mattoon near Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University. Our Mattoon, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers. Families looking for lodging in Mattoon, Illinois will not be disappointed by our hotel, located just off I-57 between Effingham and Champaign. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, including the Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, Fox Ridge State Park and the Douglas-Hart Nature Center. Other nearby activities include Lake Mattoon, the Rockome Gardens and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our Mattoon, IL accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Mattoon, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including RR Donnelley, Mediacom, Lender's Bagel Company and the Sarah Bush Lincoln Medical Center. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch. While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Mattoon, IL hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mattoon
Holiday Inn Express Mattoon
Mattoon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing