We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Holiday Inn Express in Mattoon, IL, never fails to deliver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express in Mattoon, IL, never fails to deliver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

From check-in to check-out, the staff offers excellent service. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and the beds are comfortable. There is a large variety of food available in the spacious breakfast room. The Holiday Inn is conveniently located right off the interstate and is only 7 miles from Charleston and Eastern Illinois University.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel in your review! We are happy to hear our staff took excellent care of you and we were able to accommodate your needs! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    34
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
28
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times on my way further south. It is very easy to get to right off the highway and there are several places to eat and get gas right next to the hotel. The staff is always friendly when you check in. This past stay, they even called up to my room about 30 minutes after we checked in to make sure everything was fine with our room. I've never had that happen before! The breakfast is the normal continental breakfast, but the area was clean and just overall nice. The hotel also allows dogs which is a plus for us as we were traveling with our dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Valued Guest, thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel and also for taking time to post on TripAdvisor! We stress to our employees how important that every guest receive the best overall experience possible! We realize there are many other lodging choices and thank you for choosing us! We look forward to seeing you and your dog again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I don't give many excellent ratings but this hotel deserves it. Everything was great and I had no complaints. Hotel is well maintained, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly. The breakfast area was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to post this positive review! We try daily to make the guests experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I am pleased to hear you were well taken care of here on your stay. We hope you are a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night while passing through our way home from Florida. The hotel is convenient to I-57. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean -- we had a 2-Queen suite which included a fridge, microwave, sofa bed, table, desk, etc. The front desk girl was very friendly and efficient. She told us that the hotel is about 5 years old, which we were surprised by as it looks brand new. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and clean too. There are several restaurants in the immediate area (chains like Steak & Shake and Cracker Barrel).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you so much for your positive review and I am glad that you were so pleased! We strive to make sure the guests are well taken care of with good service! If the opportunity arises we would love for you to come stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUSTICE, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let me start off by saying great employees make the hotel a better place and this hotel has them! There was some confusion with my reservation and Courtney Scoles was the first one to help me out over the phone. Then when I arrived and the matter had to be called into priority rewards Sarah Minix and Stephnie Packer(GM) went out of their way to insure the matter was handled efficently. Thanks for all your help! The room was exceptional, service and food for continental breakfast outstanding too bad my son is graduating or I would keep coming back....

Room Tip: Stay in a suite they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10000words
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and property! We take pride in being able to say we do all we can for the guest, and I'm glad we were able to help! If you ever find yourself traveling this way we would love to have you stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checking in was easy and very friendly service. The hotel is by the interstate and many restaurants. Only 10 minutes from the high school we were competing at. I would stay there again. Morning breakfast was very good, rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable, and shower was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review! Our staff takes pride in trying to make every stay a great experience! I'm glad your stay was convenient and we hope to see your team again!
Delia Bunyard
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff. The property was immaculate and well maintained. The room was clean. The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping. The bed was very comfortable.

If you're looking for a place to stay in Mattoon, stay here. I've also stayed at the Hampton Inn in Mattoon. This property is just as good. I would stay again here or at the Hampton Inn (wherever I could get the best rate).

If you're traveling the I-57 corridor and looking for a place to stay, I'd rather stay in Mattoon than Mt. Vernon. It's a lot more convenient to get on and off the interstate, the dining and shopping is similar for national chains and Mattoon, while smaller, just seems cleaner and safer.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is such that the elevators are in a small hallway off the main corridor so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogueWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the kind words about our property. We value cleanliness and pride in pleasing our guests. We hope your travels bring you in our diresction again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#3 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#5 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Charleston
Days Inn Charleston
#1 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
7.2 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Address: 121 Swords Dr, Mattoon, IL 61938-9758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#4 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Mattoon, Illinois boasts excellent facilities! Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mattoon near Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University. Our Mattoon, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers. Families looking for lodging in Mattoon, Illinois will not be disappointed by our hotel, located just off I-57 between Effingham and Champaign. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, including the Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, Fox Ridge State Park and the Douglas-Hart Nature Center. Other nearby activities include Lake Mattoon, the Rockome Gardens and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our Mattoon, IL accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Mattoon, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including RR Donnelley, Mediacom, Lender's Bagel Company and the Sarah Bush Lincoln Medical Center. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch. While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Mattoon, IL hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mattoon
Holiday Inn Express Mattoon
Mattoon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing