We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine hotel, nice layout, pet friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fine hotel, nice layout, pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We pick hotels that will take us and our Boston Terrier, so we were quite happy here. There were two complaints- one was no fridge, which we half expected.The other was just bad luck- we had one of those weird people in the room above us who just thumped around all night (past 3 am), so of all the nights on our long trip, this one left us sleepy and grouchy. But, I can't blame the hotel, since we never called, hoping that this person (gorilla?) would eventually go to bed.
The hotel was clean, friendly, and quite reasonable for a Holiday Express. the dog only cost an additional ten dollars.
We would come back anytime.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I am pleased to hear you were happy with your stay. I am also sorry to hear that you were disturb by another guest. Please feel free to let the front desk staff know so that we can handle the situation for you. We do have refrigerators available in most of our rooms so feel free to make that request when you make your next reservation. It is our goal to make sure all of our guest have the best experience possible. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we will look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
29
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
156 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located right off of the interstate close to shopping and restaurants. I stayed one night for business and did not have any complaints, which is unusual. The rooms, lobby, grounds and eating area were clean and well maintained. I will stay at this hotel again when working in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you have no complaints about your stay. That is our goal with every single guest. We pride ourselves on delivering an experience that exceeds our guest expectations. We look forward to accommodating you again on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My baseball team had a tournament in Mattoon and we chose this hotel because of our past history with Holiday inn express hotels. This hotel is fairly clean with a very small pool so if you have a large group beware of this. Due to weather we were not able to play all of our schedule games and did not need to stay the second night. At 2:15pm I made the front staff aware of this and advised them I would like to check out. I fully expected to pay a late check out fee of some sort. I was advised that I would still have to pay the full $92 room rate. I informed the staff member of the policy made avalible on the web site that says cancellations must be made by 6pm. She said " I don't know what the web site says I just know what my manager says to tell people." After requesting to see this policy in writing I was told it could not be provided. After a call to the manager I was given the "great" check out rate of $59. Way to work with the customer! My family and I travel alot to majior cities and this small town hotel staff is by far the worst I've ever been treated by a hotel. Our group has two travel baseball teams blocking about 25 rooms and we will never use this hotel again. In about 3 weeks we have another tourny and will be staying in Effingham.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 833travelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest. We believe every guest deserves the same extraordinary experience! We strive for excellence and I am disappointed to learn that you had a less than an exceptional experience during your stay with us.

A cancellation policy applies to your stay before arrival. Your cancellation policy stated "Canceling your reservation before 6:00 PM (local hotel time) on Friday, 27 April, 2012 will result in no charge. Canceling your reservation after 6:00 PM (local hotel time) on 27 April, 2012, or failing to show, will result in a charge of 1 night per room to your credit card. Taxes may apply. Failing to call or show before check-out time after the first night of a reservation will result in cancellation of the remainder of your reservation."

Checkout as stated on the website is at 12:00 pm on the day of checkout. During these busy weekends it is crucial that we adhere to this policy due to the fact that we have turned away business because the baseball teams had the rooms reserved. If we allowed one guest on the team to checkout late due to game cancellations or losses, we would have a majority of the team wanting that same checkout and we would have many rooms available and guests that were turned away because of no availability.

Our policy also states that Check In is at 3:00pm. We cannot have rooms available to guests who are checking in by 3:00 pm, if we allow several checkouts after 12:00 pm.

Our hotel is rated Excellent for Guest Satisfaction and Cleanliness. We work very hard to maintain this status and are very disappointed when a guest leaves not being satisfied. We do regret the fact that you were not informed at the time the request was made that as long as the housekeeping staff is still on property, you could pay the day rate of $59.00 and checkout late. Again, we are very sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

Darci Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palos hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nice hotel, very clean, good breakfast, nice friendly staff. Best hotel in that area!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank You
Stephanie Packer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, IL.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I booked a king bed room in this hotel for a 2 night business trip but wound up in a double without anywhere to sit except at the desk. The second day, they moved me to a handicap king. Their explanation was that they do not honor reservations for room types - just for a room - and a snow had caused too many holdovers. After I left, I discovered that they charged me the higher rate for the king room both nights. I've been upgraded for the same rate before but never downgraded for the same rate. They did give me 4,000 points after I complained to Priority Club so I consider it a wash financially but I'll be staying at a different chain the next time I'm in Mattoon. Aside from one person from housekeeping encountered in the hallway I didn't see any staff smiling and seldom saw anyone at the desk. Otherwise, the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Arrive early in the day in the hope of getting the room type you reserved
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our policy does guarantee a room, but not necessarily a room type. We make every attempt to accomodate the room type which the guest requests in their reservation. As you stated, during your stay the weather had caused several guests to have to extend their stay, thus not having your room type available. The room you were assigned is not a less desirable room, just different bed types and furniture to accommodate that bed types. We did attempt to correct this situation by moving you to room with a king bed and easy chair on the next evening. This room was a suite due to the fact that it was the only room that we had come available for the second evening. It was an oversight on our part of not changing your rate on the first night from the $97 to $92, and I do apologize for that inconvenience. Since this was not brought to our attention until after the fact, I felt being a priority club member, the 4000 priority club points were of more value to you than the difference in the room rate.
This is a very rare occurence at our hotel, for a guest to not be given the room type requested and as you mentioned, many times our priority club guests are upgraded into a more expensive room. Unfortunately, we cannot go back and make this situation right, but we can learn from it and be better if this situation arrives in the future.
We are sorry that you feel you won't return to our hotel and would like to have the opportunity to show you the high level of service that is normally provide at this hotel.

Thank you
Darci Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Mattoon Il again. The staff seemed even more friendly this time than last year. the cleaning staff was actually on hands and knees cleaning baseboards and edges in halls and elevator tracks. WOW. Breakfast was good and beds are always comfy.
Plenty of parking with pulling the boat.

Room Tip: Morning sun comes up on front side of building but both sides are quite as they both face fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabruggeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mattoon we take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our hotel. Our staff goes above and beyond to assure or guest are taken care. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You
Stephanie Packer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Easy to find, nice place, great staff and a good nights sleep. Place seems to be just two or three years old.

Plenty of safe parking for all the visitors.

In the morning the breakfast is great. Off we went to the nearby interstate.

I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Old54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We strive to make every stay a great experience for our guests and are glad you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#2 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#6 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.2 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Address: 121 Swords Dr, Mattoon, IL 61938-9758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#4 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Mattoon, Illinois boasts excellent facilities! Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mattoon near Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University. Our Mattoon, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers. Families looking for lodging in Mattoon, Illinois will not be disappointed by our hotel, located just off I-57 between Effingham and Champaign. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, including the Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, Fox Ridge State Park and the Douglas-Hart Nature Center. Other nearby activities include Lake Mattoon, the Rockome Gardens and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our Mattoon, IL accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Mattoon, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including RR Donnelley, Mediacom, Lender's Bagel Company and the Sarah Bush Lincoln Medical Center. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch. While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Mattoon, IL hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mattoon
Holiday Inn Express Mattoon
Mattoon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing