We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoker's Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Matteson
Appleton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Smoker's Paradise!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you smoke, don't think twice. BOOK THIS HOTEL!!! You will LOVE it. They have a ton of smoking rooms and they stink bad. In fact, most of the hotel smells of cigarette smoke.

If you don't smoke don't take a chance on booking a reservation. You have a good/fair chance of getting a smoking room since VERY FEW people want them. I don't understand hotels that cater to indoor smokers today. It's bad for business. Why should someone who doesn't smoke be subjected to smoking. The hospitality industry needs to take notice. This hotel is a prime example of the problem. As a non-smoker I won't give them my business again. If you want allow indoor smoking, continue to market to the minority of today's population at the expense of the larger market. A bottle of Febreeze won't even save you. Enough said.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinlargewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgtTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We follow Illinois and Cook County Mandates to provide smoking rooms for smokers, which helps the non smoking rooms to be smoke free, as you know that a lot of people do not wish to smoke outside of their rooms. We understand your frustration but we assure you that the hotel doesnt smell like smoke, except for smoking rooms on the top corner floor. Thus we always provide guests with 100% non-smoking requests, the designated non smoking floors.
We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. We sincerely hope that you give us a chance and we shall do our best.
Sincerely,
Andy Sarma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    72
    31
    49
    68
See reviews for
185
38
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Found this hotel by chance the last time I was in the area and I was pleasantly surprised. We were allowed to check in early and were upgraded to a beautiful room. Room was clean and beds were wonderful. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and the location can't be beat. The General Manager even came around to greet us at breakfast. The location was perfect due to we stayed for 5 days and 4 nights for business and leisure purposes. Having stayed at a few other hotels in the immediate area I can easily say that THIS is the one I would return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoPack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgtTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed. We look forward to your next stay. Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Sincerely,
Sara Preston,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel was very clean & the staff was excellent. The staff works hard to please. I look forward to my next stay. Kids loved the clean pool. The manager is VERY tentative to everyone at the hotel & seems to be everywhere all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgtTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed it. We look forward to your next stay. Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Sincerely,
Andy Sarma,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had booked this hotel for three nights. The first night we walked in to our room and the AC was not working at all. We called the front desk, they were very nice and fixed it for us and gave us a different room if it stopped working. The second night I woke up to something crawling on me. Turns out it was a bed bug! I put it in a cup to show the front desk staff. I didn't even have to tell him what it was, he already knew. I asked for a refund and they told me that I had to take that up with Priceline, since we booked the hotel through them. Luckily they refunded us our money back. We did not stay the third night with them. Long story short STAY AWAY, THIS HOTEL HAS BED BUGS!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgtTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We can assure you that we do have a very strict pest control program in place and do our best to control such incidents. As you might agree, we cannot control how those bed bugs are carried as this is a travellors nightmare, moreover a hotels nightmare as those are carried in. But we have completely eradicated any issues as such in our hotel as of now.
Sincerely,
Andy Sarma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ill make this brief; first night staying here had two exhausted little girls with me they decided to put our room right above a dance club that played the whole discography of R. Kelley. Do not get room 228 we were so close to the music the bass shook the beds. Didn't bother to say anything what's the point...just Horrible. By the way, I'm not exaggerating...it went on till 12am.

Room Tip: DO NOT USE RM 228! Night club right underneath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorenzo0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize that the music made your stay unenjoyable. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

For the price, I say maybe stay here. If you're on a budget or just need a quick low cost option for a night while passing through the area, then maybe. But regarding everything else that you might expect, then a definite NO. I won't go into too much detail as there is much, but I will give you a snippet of the many issues that I encountered during my stay.

The toilet in my wrong was broken or something. You had to jingle the handle for about 5 minutes after a flush. Well of course it mentioned it to the front desk attendant on the first night. He looked at me with a look like he already knew it. Also, he look was sort of dismissive, as if he really didn't care. My presumptions were correct. 3 nights later, and no resolution. Obviously, they didn't give a crap.

One positive was the breakfast. It was pretty extensive and had a hot option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoBizDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgtTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Sincerely,
Andy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel April 20, 2013. We had a group block for a basketball tournament that was nearby. When making my reservation the manager assured me that I should stay in a King Suite because it was so nice and I won't regret it, well WRONG! All the block of rooms were all on the third floor of this hotel. The third floor is the smoking floor, in which when I made reservation for group block I indicated that we needed non smoking rooms. In my "king suite" I had to leave the windows open all day/night in the cold so that my two 7 year olds wouldn't have a asthma attack due to the smoking room, when asked to be moved, according to the front desk attendant the hotel was sold out therefore we were stuck in these rooms. The furniture is wore down and the room was filthy! The heater vent in the wall was covered in food, the bathroom wall by the sink had what looked like vomit that wasn't cleaned up the furniture had holes in them looked like cigarette burns. When I did open the windows there were holes in the screen, thank Goodness the weather was in upper 30's that I didn't have to worry about bugs flying in. When checking in the front desk attendant was not knowledgeable at all about what was going on. When I asked him questions he told me to talk with the manager who when you try to call is NEVER available. My rate was changed to a higher rate which it wasn't suppose to be. This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever encountered in my entire life, every parent on the team had a issue with this hotel in their own rooms. I will NEVER stay here again!!!!!!

Room Tip: No rooms stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgtTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Melinda,
I thank you for your patience in helping me resolve this issue. Again, per our conversation today, I am extremely sorry you and your kids had to go through this unforeseen circumstance. My assurance with you and your team is that we are working dilligently to ensure this type of situation is avoided. I hope you are happy with the two free night vouchers that we send you. The vouchers can be used in any North American Country Inn and Suites of your choice, unexpired and with no black out dates.
I hope we can win your and your groups confidence back and burn the isolated situation. Please do keep us in mind and call me before your trip brings back to Matteson, and I shall personally ensure everything is right.

Sincerely
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matteson
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Matteson Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago Matteson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicago Southland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson
Address: 950 Lake Superior Dr, Matteson, IL 60443-1778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Matteson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Matteson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matteson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Matteson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Matteson Hotel Matteson
Country Inn Matteson
Matteson Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing