We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a special journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Chez Denis a Francois
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We visited the Magdalen Islands some years ago and stayed at the same inn. Nothing has changed…the Magdalens are still spectacular, and the inn remains a fantastic place to stay while enjoying them. Our room this time was on the third floor and was lovely. In addition to breakfast, we had dinner twice at the inn. Each meal was delicious, expertly prepared, and beautifully presented. Our host Denis could not be more charming and helpful. Other guests staying there were also very friendly and we had lively conversations while dining. Can’t wait to plan a third trip to the islands and of course, we will stay at Chez Denis a Francois.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudenHoggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

This family run inn is excellent value for money and best of all has superb dining. Conveniently located just above the historic (and somewhat touristy) La Grave area the proprietor Denis and his chef wife Francine provide a wonderful service. These are two very busy folks as they also run the very popular, must visit, Café de la Grave (5 minute walk). If you love good seafood let them know and you may end up with a special creation. Denis is a knowledgeable host and will gladly give good touring advice in English. The rooms are clean & comfortable. This is a very good location at a reasonable price to have as a base for 2 -3 days as you get acquainted with the islands.

Room Tip: Ask for a view... in the off season... or book a year early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brudenell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at the Auberge Chez Denis a Francois because it looked delightful from the website, and most importantly, it had a dining room. We were travelling on bikes and so I was very diligent about making a dinner reservation.

Denis met us when we arrived and he comes across as a business man who is only friendly because he has to be. That didn't bother us too much, although we did find it rather strange that he was in the hospitality industry.

Our room was very pleasant. Nothing special, but it had all the immenities and the view from the window is very nice. The bed is two twins pushed together and there's a fridge in the room and a really tiny tv. A walk through the shops of La Grave is a must.

At 6 pm we went down to the dining room for dinner only to be told we didn't have a reservations. Denis was surprisingly unapologetic for this error and suggested that we eat in our room or at the take out in La Grave. By now it was raining and we were all dressed up ready for a nice evening out. It soon became evident that we'd have to eat in our room if we wanted any dinner. I had the chicken curry which was excellent and my husband had a seafood medely which he really enjoyed too, although it was a skimpy serving. We were forgotten after the main course and went downstairs ourselves to get the dessert menu.

I thought some compensation would be given for their error, but none was given. A sincere apology would have done at the very least but we never even got that. No effort was made to make our table somewhat romantic. A table cloth or a candle, or CD player would have added a touch of ambiance.

Breakfast was a choice of eggs and bacon or an apple crepe in a cream sauce. We chose the crepe and it was excellent. Nothing else was offered - no fruit or bread. Compared to the other bed and breakfasts we've stayed at, it was a skimpy meal and Denis was looking very haggard. He'd worked in the dining room until midnight and was back by 8 am. This was their busy season and he was run off his feet. We left without a goodbye from him.

There aren't many choices for places to stay at La Grave, and this place is certainly comfortable, just don't expect a lot for your dollar.

We stayed at La Butte Ronde on Havres aux Maison and highly recommend it.

If you're riding bikes, there's a stong wind that picks up around 2 pm and it makes cycling against it a real challenge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank businessCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My wife and I have been travelling a lot. I often used Tripadvisor to prepare my trips but I had never taken the time to register and write a review. After staying at the Inn``Chez Denis a Francois``, I just had to write my first review.

My wife and I spent 4 nights there. The Inn is located on the island of Havre-Aubert, on a quiet street and area. For me, the island of Havre-Aubert is the best place to stay when you visit the Magdalen Islands.

The rooms are spacious, well furnished and super clean. From many of the rooms you can see the water and the great area known as "La Grave". (By the way, dont miss "Le cafe de la Grave".)

The owners, Francine et Denis, were very welcoming and always looking for ways to make our stay a great one. The same goes for the employees. For breakfast, they had a different menu with 2-3 choices every morning. If you like ``real``coffee, you wont be disappointed. We also had dinner there on the evening of our arrival. The food was always very good.

Thank you again Francine and Denis

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pegasus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Auberge Chez Denis a Francois has a fantastic location in a beautiful village with spectacular views of the seaside on the southernmost of the Magdalen Islands. Inn is charming - comfortable room with nice artwork all over the inn walls. Innkeeper Denis was very pleasnt, charming, and informative about the area, and anxious to make guests comfortable. Breakfasts were great - on day we left, early the the morning, Denis had a delicious breakfast spread packed for us. The restaurant connected to the inn is first class -- the lobster risotto served one night was to die for. The whole experience of the Magdalen Islands, including this inn, has inspired me to take up French! (BTW, Denis speaks excellent English!) Definitely a place to return to.

Stayed: May 2007
7  Thank AudenHoggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tintin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 1Rachelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile du Havre Aubert
9.6 mi away
Auberge Madeli Inn
Auberge Madeli Inn
#1 of 3 in Ile du Cap aux Meules
51 reviews
9.8 mi away
Chateau Madelinot
Chateau Madelinot
#3 of 3 in Ile du Cap aux Meules
54 reviews
6.4 mi away
Havre-sur-Mer Inn
Havre-sur-Mer Inn
#1 of 3 in Ile du Havre Aubert
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Motel L'Archipel
Motel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in L'Etang-du-Nord
26 reviews
11.4 mi away
La Butte Ronde
La Butte Ronde
#2 of 7 in Ile du Havre aux Maisons
47 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Maison des Falaises
La Maison des Falaises
#3 of 7 in Ile du Havre aux Maisons
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Chez Denis a Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Chez Denis a Francois

Address: 404 Chemin d'en haut | C.p. 183, Quebec G4T 9A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Iles de la Madeleine > Ile du Havre Aubert
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ile du Havre Aubert
Price Range: $52 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Chez Denis a Francois 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 Rooms Inn with a 40 places restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Auberge Chez Denis a Francois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing