We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southland Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markham
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Even though this is a company hotel, I prefer it to another company hotel. It feels homey. They have a lies little cats in the trash outback though. Little things like hot water 24/7 in the breakfast room counts.

Room Tip: Last time upstairs had no wireless, try downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

It was a spur of the moment stay... just to get out of the house and not have to worry about cleaning up for anything.... even though the hotel is on a kind of a bad area, it was decent! The hotel room was nice to me thing I didn't like was the floors creak when you walked... there was a mini kitchen which I loved having 3 boys a came in hand... the hotel receptionist was very nice and respectful... what I like most what is a continental breakfast... there wasn't too much to choose from but it was perfect :) I enjoyed my stay in the price was awesome it couldnt b beat and I will be having my spur of the moments when I want to get out of the house and I'm for sure going to go back to the Comfort Inn :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

On feb 22 I checked out the most horrible hotel ever and ended up at Comfort Inn in Markham, Illinois. I told Miss Toni our nightmare situation and she went above and beyond to make us happy & comfortable. Toni gave us a nice, clean suite. It made the rest of our stay very pleasant. She will be the reason why we will come again! Love the room, spacious bathroom everything we needed. Breakfast ok. clean & quiet. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissShalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Special request was granted by Tony. It made my stay very comfortable with additional family staying at the hotel. The desk personnel: Tony, Tasha & Gloria were very polite as well. They were very friendly and greated me with a smile. The breakfast was a plus for me. The coffee was hot and they offered a variety as well. Everything was fresh, clean and nicely arranged. My room was very comfortable. The a/c was cold and the bathroom was clean and bright. The pricing was the best I have seen in years. I highly recommend this hotel; especially for the price and comfort. Easy and quick excess to the interstate. Fast food restaurants located within walking distances. No pool available.

Room Tip: Always choose a room away from the elevators, front offices, and ice machines (less noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The first room we were given did not have working air so we were offered a suite. We appreciated the offer so we took it. But when we made it to our room we did not have all of the necessities that we needed. We were notified previous to our arrival that we had a new room. The room we had at first had two double beds. The suite had one double bed with a couch that let out into a bed. The bed attach to the couch was horrible. There was a thin pad covered over the springs with no sheets. The springs set up so high they would poke you in your back or side. Not comfortable enough for anyone. Now it is too late to get another room. Then we had no toilet paper and only two dry towels and no sheets for the sofa bed. There is no reason why our room should not have been ready upon our arrival. When we called the desk we had to go down to get everything we needed. You could not get the stopper to work for the tub. The refrigerator barely kept our beverages cold. We left them in our cooler because the freezer did not work. This was the worst suite ever. We checked out early the next morning. "The spring sofa bed was the worst I had ever seen." We will never stay here again. Upon checking out the next morning the young lady at the desk was not friendly at all. "Horrible Hospitality!"

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4RUN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I normally have great luck with Choice Hotel chains. Not this time. I have to say the gentleman, night clerk was fine, and very apologetic over the inconveniences though. First the door lock to our room wouldn't work. He tried to fix it for us, but ended up moving us to another room since he couldn't open it either. The second room had problems with the lights so he sent us to a smoking room. Yuck! Can you believe they actually have hot water run to the toilet... I about sweat my butt off. The cleaning crew is not detail oriented. They did not clean my coffee pot and left it half full after cleaning the room, and only left two towels, when they took away four plus the hand towels. After we left and came back the room keys didn't work again. Yes, I know how to use the key cards. Others to mention: Fuzzy TV, holes in the bed spread, trash not picked up behind the door, the chair was ripped and looked terrible, and it smelled like a family of dead mice had died under the ice machine. With some updates this place wouldn't be so bad. The staff was friendly, and I didn't have a problem with cleanliness except the ice machine. The price was right for the location and how it was maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Ltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

i was there with my girl friend for one day, 1st the front desk was not friendly at all, took long time to check us in. 2nd the breakfast area is messy, milk split all over the counter and floor, i understand there were kids there but someone has to clean it. Room cleaning is ok, bed is too soft, a/c was noisy,location not bad and price is fair.
again the toughest part is the front desk staff, mean and rough, scared!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buffalosabres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markham
2.1 mi away
Best Western Chicago Southland
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Harvey
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Monee
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago Matteson
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
6.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southland Inn & Suites

Address: 2850 W 159th St, Markham, IL 60428-4024 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Markham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markham
Price Range: $63 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southland Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Markham, this hotel is within 3 mi (5 km) of Oak Hill Park, Harvey Public Library, and Harvey Community Center. Midwest Carvers Museum and Ravisloe Country Club are also within 6 mi (10 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Markham
Comfort Inn Markham
Markham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing