We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great updates!”
Review of Super 8 Marion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Marion
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were driving all night trying to find a hotel and everything was booked...so we were skeptical when we found a Super 8...we were desperate.... So I called and they were very friendly and held us a room (and even gave me a discount coupon)..when we got in the room smelled clean and had all new furnishings! New carpet and paint as well...it was very clean and was just what we needed...for the price this was a GREAT place! It's was actually the nicest place we stayed throughout our road trip! The Country Inn and Suites we stayed at were dirty and smelled of smoke and very poor service....this was fresh and clean and a nice surprise to end our vacation...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jeremiah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 668 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DOUGLAS D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

There were things that I liked about this hotel, and things I did not like. Might as well start with the good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean, and included a lot of welcome extras: coffee-maker, refrigerator, microwave, ironing board, etc. There is free coffee and limited breakfast items in the lobby. The bed was comfortable. The air-conditioning worked fine. Now the bad. The carpet is really ugly, and my room was furnished with mismatched items. No closet, only a rod for hanging clothes. No bedspread on the bed, only a blanket. When I took a shower and reached for a towel, the towel rack fell off the wall. The TV was small (worked perfectly, though). These are really insignificant items, but there was one major drawback. In my room, at least, the walls must have been paper-thin. I could hear every time someone in the hall opened or closed a door. And I could hear every word of the conversation the people in the room across the hall were having. If I had not been so tired, it might have been difficult to fall asleep due to the noise. All in all, this isn't a bad hotel for the price. But if you are a light sleeper, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daver852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at this Super 8 because all rooms in Carbondale were booked. The hotel is small, but the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was sparse, the breakfast area was nothing more than a few tables in front of the check-in/out desk, which made it extremely crowded. The beds were very comfortable and provided for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room was nice size with micro fridge that worked. However the bed mattress was sagging badly though was not rock hard. While our room was ok inside the hallways needed vacuuming and there was a very strong air freshener odor. If you are sensitive it can be a problem. It did not smell of tobacco smoke, a plus.
Breakfast area very small and cramped though you could make waffles. General fare, we do not eat the offered breakfasts.
Road construction makes getting on the Interstate southbound a detour down a two lane road.
I booked based on other higher reviews but I would not stay at this Super 8 again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlerTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Marion

Address: 2601 Vernell RD, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Marion 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel through Southern Illinois, make Super 8 Marion hotel your home base. Conveniently located off Interstate 57 and Route 13, our Marion, IL, hotel is only 15 minutes from Southern Illinois University and just 45 minutes from scenic Shawnee National Forest and Rend Lake. Start your morning off with free SuperStart continental breakfast before you head out to explore the area.Each room at our Marion, IL, hotel features free high-speed Internet access, free HBO and refrigerator. Business suites are available. We offer copy and fax services if you need to work from the road. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult, and we are pet friendly with a $10.00 pet fee per, pet per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing