We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Rustic, not spiders and ants.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Marion B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2011

On a weekend visit to see my son, I came across this BnB online, it was pet friendly that was the selling point.As any animal lover who travels with there pet knows, you take them to the vet, feed them, make sure they are clean.Arrived late on a Friday night, the next day the owners dogs showed up, skinny, full of ticks and fleas. They charged me 25$ night for my dog by the way. A little upkeep, get rid of the spiders and ants, do a little cleaning knock down some cobwebs, clean the frig, wash the dishes, etc. Nice location, owners nice, but didnt feel clean taking a shower with a spider! For the price I paid it was a hole.Won't stay again. Lyn Kilgore

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandlkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

We both work in a high-stress career field....and live hundreds of miles apart....We were looking for a romantic get-away that offered peace and quiet, a casual atmosphere, friendly natives, lots of outdoor activities.....did I mention peace and quiet? Upon our arrival we were greeted by Jim who directed us to the correct cabin(Gabe's cabin) and showed us around while sharing a little history about the place. The cabin was clean, neat, tidy and charmingly decorated with vintage treasures. The full kitchen held moderate amounts of utensils, dinnerware and cookware for meal preparation, plus a large grill on the porch. Speaking of the porch, the swing was very well utilized, with it's afghan and pillows, for listening to the wildlife choir, stargazing, enjoying sunrises and sunsets, or just swinging in the warm afternoon breeze. In addition, Jim has wood and kindling stacked there so that you never have to go far before building a fire....and you should build one, because you never know what surprises will happen in the firelight :-) The unique feature of Gabe's cabin is the jacuzzi tub...located in the bathroom...that adds just a little bit more to the relaxation and romance part of the weekend. There is no shower in this cabin, only the tub, but it worked out just fine, even with my long hair, because the faucet is very high off the edge of the tub. Linens and towels are in abundance in the cabin with an ample supply of towels, sheets and quilts available. Breakfast is included in the cabin rate and is superb! Katy outdoes herself every day, making favorites from scratch. We do not typically eat breakfast, but wanted to be social so we wandered up to the main cabin each morning. Katy has a large table in the center of the room where all the guests sit together....Jim has a warm fire blazing....and you meet all of your "neighbors" for the weekend while enjoying Katy's tasty fare. Our "being social" landed me 2 pieces of warm apple pie on Sunday morning, not to mention oatmeal cookies, egg casserole, homemade cinnamon rolls, fruit salad, and assortments of cereals, breads, juices, coffees and teas. After we stuffed ourselves, a walk around the large pond certainly helped to burn off some of those calories....Jim caught us on the way back and gave us a tour of the other cabins, the gardens and barn. We loved our experience here at the Olde Squat Inn and will be returning very soon with some of our friends. Thank you Jim & Katy....we will see you again very soon! -B&D

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDtravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We enjoyed a relaxing & quiet mid-week stay at the inn--hoping to unwind from the LA crowds & traffic snarls that we contend with daily. Old Squat and the surrounding countryside fit the bill! Wonderful Indian Summer weather, colorful fall foliage; nightly stargazing next to our cozy front-porch fireplace greatly added to our pleasure. Jim & Katy ensure that their guests have a hearty, home-cooked breakfast--with plenty of choices each morning...they are happy to suggest excursions/activities that are within 30 miles of the inn. Ideas include: beautiful hiking trails; quiet biking trails & lanes; wine trails; historical sites & unique museums galore; college games; & blue-grass music...so many choices & not enough time. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Although I didn't expect luxury with a cabin, a little bit of cleanliness was certainly not too much to ask for. We went to Walmart and bought blankets because we were afaid to sleep on the bedding.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleeper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My husband, my sister and I stayed during Labor Day weekend and we absolutely loved it!!! Jim is such a character and Katy is such a sweetheart and they make the perfect couple!! You can tell that they care about each and every guest. After reading some of the reviews online we expected a totally rustic cabin, which is what we wanted. However, when I walked in I couldn't believe how big it was and we actually had the smallest cabin! It was beautiful! This was totally worth the price and more! Katy's breakfasts are delicious country cooking every morning and she makes sure you have your fill! We loved the little visits when Jim came around and told a few stories. We actually are planning a Thanksgiving trip back to Olde Squat Inn in a few months. We need more stories and more country cooking! Also, we would love to see it during the winter months!
I wanted to take the 2 dogs home with me, also! They were so friendly, yet such good puppies! We are eager to go back and look forward to our next trip!
5 stars to this vacation!
Neil & Susan Mann and Mary Jo McClung
Streator and Peoria, Illinois

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crzysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The idea of staying in a restored historic cabin seemed rustic and adventurous. However, rustic shouldn't equate to dirty and poorly maintained. Insects are to be expected in rural areas, especially in old buildings; however, brown recluse spiders in the bathroom and beds are not what one expects at a B&B. Providing some minor cleaning supplies (broom, etc) and insect control (bug spray, flyswatters) would be beneficial in each cabin, and a thorough interior cleaning would make guest visits much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CsM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We heartily encourage & endorse including the Olde Squat Inn in your southern illinois plans! It is unlike any place we have ever stayed. Unique isnt adequate to explain the innovation, preservation, hospitality, location and atmosphere provided by Jim & Katie. Off the beaten path but a short drive to everything the area has to offer. Katie's years working in tourism feild make her an informed & enthusiastic provider of area info & options. Her cooking is generous on taste and she makes food allergy adjustments without comprimising flavor or presentation! when possible, in season & locally grown grace her homestyle table setting including vintage linens, eclectic glassware and flatware. Jim's candid and casual conversational style reveal to the interested listener rich and real glimpses into how the various structures were rescued, perserved and even re-invented! Jim is a marvel of old fashioned ingenuity and hospitality; each building with porches & fireplace: a collection of histories preserved in puzzle-like fashion; log by log & brick by brick incorporating applicances, hot shower and electric to create unique accomidations. all of this plus flowers on the table, singing frogs in the pond and reasonable rate options make staying at the Olde Squat Inn a wise and wonderful decision! Deb & Bruce

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebBruceIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
8.4 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
351 reviews
19.7 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14160 Libery School Road, Marion, IL 62959-6798
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range: $75 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing