We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing some wear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Showing some wear”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our third stay at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Marion, Illinois. The hotel is very conveniently located to the highway and not far from Southern Illinois University. The property in general is clean and well kept, however the rooms are starting to show some signs of wear. There was a huge crack on the front of the bathroom vanity that you could tell had been repaired. (Like a section had broken off). Also a few cig burns on the vanity next to the sink. Nothing major that would keep me from staying again. The staff are always friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julierack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    56
    19
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
40
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here last night on a trip from Minnesota to Nashville. Easy to get to, pleasant staff and nice accommodations. The assistant manager checked us in, gave us an upgrade and a gift for the Marriott reward program. Jo, the breakfast attendant, was very sweet. Breakfast closed at 10 and we got down there at 9:50; she gave us time to get food and checked before putting things away. Pleasant stay overall!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelforfulfillment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities, IL
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stopped here after driving 11 hours and used Marriott points. Pool was closed (due to the time of evening) but looked nice and the area was clean. Hallways were on the warm side and the rooms were a no frills type of room. Good size TV, Bed was semi-comfortable, the AC/Heat unit is noisy and is loud when it kicks on and off. Mini fridge was great and bathrooms were huge. Only stayed the one night to rest up to get back on the road.

Room Tip: Garmin and Tom Tom's tell you to take exit 54B however there is major road construction on the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King61256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Tx
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed two nights on business. Not sure when the hotel was built but it shows some wear. The bathroom door knob was broken and dangling. The bathtub drain stopper would not work and you had to constantly leave the water running in the tub so it wouldn't all drain out before you were finished bathing.
The room had an "odd" smell when I first arrived. I couldn't determine if it was just a musty smell or if it was a smoke smell.... I opened the window and let the room air out and it seemed to get better. The room was clean and well supplied. It had a clean microwave and clean refrigerator in the room as well.
FYI: The hotel is directly across the street from a minor league baseball team stadium and there was a game Thursday evening so the traffic was a nightmare around the hotel while the fan's were arriving and leaving.
Not much to say except it was an average stay.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor - it was fairly quite. Didn't really sound like the walls were paper t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here one night on Marriott points the night before catching an! Mtrak train out of Carbondale (about 20 minutes away). Like most Fairfields, this is a basic, no frills place, but it is certainly more than a rundown motel.

My room was very clean and absolutely functional. I did not use the pool, but it looked fun, though extremely small and plain. If I was going to be here more than a night, I would look for something more upscale, but for a night, it was fine.

The clerk was friendly and efficient.

I found the breakfast to be on the ordinary side: no toast, for instance. But there were other types of items like cereal and pastries.

On balance, I'd say the Fairfield Inn at Marion is a no frills but dependable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryv731_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very modern, clean Fairfield Inn. One of the better Fairfield Inn's I've ever stayed in. Would highly recommend. Even have an evening social with two free drinks and light snacks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Got it all. Great staff, accommodations, price. Nearby restaurant with food you'll enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc943a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#4 of 15 in Marion
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
Address: 1400 N. Halfway Road, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites underwent a change of ownership in October 2010 and was completely renovated shortly thereafter and has had many new amenities made available to guests. New amenities include new high definition televisions in each guestroom, new electric front entry doors, new furniture and fixtures throughout the guestrooms and public areas, and the availability of complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet service to guests. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Marion
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion Hotel Marion
Fairfield Inn Marion
Fairfield Marion
Marion Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Hotel Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing