We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great salad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McAlister's Deli

McAlister's Deli
Ranked #15 of 95 Restaurants in Marion
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Love the BIG SALAD with cranberries, cucumbers and nuts. The baked potatoes are HUGE and the brown gravy is addicting. Gotta have some "sweet tea" too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Quick, huge portions. Decent prices. Delicious food. Friendly, attentive staff. Order was missing two bags of chips but we did not feel like returning back to get them. I definitely suggest trying their lemonade or sweet tea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stccple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious ..don't miss this place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very clean, many choices, and friendly service!! I chose the turkey-cranberry-bacon sandwich and fresh roasted corn chowder soup. Our party of four all had something different and we were all pleased. By the way, the servings are very generous!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently Good McAlister's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've eaten here several times, and every time the food has been good. Tried salads, sandwiches and potatoes in various combinations with their pick 2 deal. Their salad dressings are particularly good. Iced tea is their specialty. I always get the unsweetened, and it's some of the best tea in town. The food is served promptly and the staff are really great at drink refills and clearing the table when you're done. I always feel like McAlister's is Panera, just $2 cheaper per person and less rushed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LHinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
181 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Never a bad experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

To say that we love this restaurant would be an understatement. We always get the "Choose Two" with a salad of some sorts and a potato. The potatoes are always huge and tasty and the salads are fresh. Never have we had wilted lettuce, or a cold potato. We go at least once every other week and of course the tea is the best!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tchrmom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McAlister's Deli also viewed

 

Been to McAlister's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing