We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We went for a graduation at SIU and got a great deal on this hotel. It was about 20 miles away from graduation, which is great considering rooms are scarce around graduation. I booked 3 months in advance and this is the closest I could get. Friendly staff, convenient to restaurants and shopping and free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LaFah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    156
    35
    30
    13
See reviews for
179
110
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The room was large, very clean, nicely furnished and reasonably priced. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our only disappointment was with the pool It is a beautiful glassed in area but the pool water was extremely cold and the whirlpool was unbearably hot! The patio just off the pool was nice and secluded. On the whole - a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmadiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I were on a long, long drive and had to stop in Marion, which is heavily populated with hotels. We just wanted somewhere to sleep, and we ended up choosing the Best Western, based on my mostly positive experiences with this company. We were beyond surprised. The room felt brand new, spotless, and heaven after 11 hours of driving. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower had great water pressure, the staff was friendly. Breakfast was really good, much better than most. We were only there for about 10 hours, but it was a fantastic stop. Used a AAA discount, but it was really affordable either way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mokomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The free breakfast offerings were extensive: Eggs, pancakes, bacon, juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt..pretty much anything you would want. The employees were very accommodating and the hotel was very clean. Overall it was a good value with a nice pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Halls and lobby were clean, quiet, and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was what you get at most hotels. We will stay here again when traveling to southern Illinoisl

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 665dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked this hotel when my other choice of hotel chain was completely booked. This is one of the nicest Best Western's we've stayed at in recent years and a bonus that the rates were so reasonable. We paid a few extra dollars for the larger king room, which came with came with a huge vanity area, and 2 refrigerators! The main room had a king bed and a sofa bed and was quite spacious. I was told that the property used to be another hotel which had been converted to a Best Western.

Room Tip: The hotel is very near the interstate--basically off a frontage type of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Mi
Level Contributor
283 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was just a one-nighter on our way to somewhere else, and we were very pleased. Pleasant people working there (who gave us the tip to try th 20's hideout steakhouse), extremely clean and pleasant room and swimming pool and a very good breakfast. This was a great find for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#6 of 15 in Marion
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
Address: 400 Comfort Dr, Marion, IL 62959-4969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Updated Best Western Plus Marion Hotel. Conveniently located on I-57 at exit 53, we are a short walk from Cracker Barrel and Twenties Hideout Restaurants. The Best Western Plus Marion Hotel offers a Free Full Hot Breakfast, Free WiFi in the rooms and public areas and a newly updated 24 hour business center for guest use. After you work or play hard all day, you can swim year round in our large atrium enclosed pool or relax in the hot tub. You can also maintain your exercise routine in our newly updated fitness room or with free passes to Golds Gym. All rooms have 32' Flat screen TV, DVD players with DVD Rentals at front desk, AM/FM alarm clock with MP3 connection, Microwave and Refrigerator. The Best Western Hotel is located just 18 miles from Southern Illinois University Carbondale (SIUC) and 3 miles from the Williamson County Airport (MWA). We are also located near Shawnee National Forest, Crab Orchard National Wildlife Refuge and Rend Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing