We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Reviewed January 7, 2009

First, nasty sheets- when we reported this to mgmt. they gave us clean sheets for us to change the bed.
Second, toilet leaked all around the base.
They finally gave us another room. Then tried to say that we had messed up the sheets. They told us that we had to leave the next morning rather than stay the 2 nights that we paid for. When I disputed their claim the manager became irate and said he was going to "teach you a lesson." He then yelled at my 8yr. old daughter and said we had 5 minutes to get our things and get out. As we were walking away he said, "no, you have 1 minute." He refused to give any refund at all. We reported this incident to the local police and when they called him he did not deny anything but added that he was going to charge my credit card an additional $200 for the sheets. When we called Econolodge headquarters they said that since he was the manager that he could talk to us and treat us any way he wanted and they didn't care.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastorscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

This is one of the dirtiest hotels I've seen!! We were driving through the state and it was getting late. No time to do hotel searches on- line. Everything was dirty from the carpets, to the furniture to the towels. GROSS! The bathroom was outdated and there were small holes all over on the walls! DO NOT STAY HERE!! I will be writing corporate to tell them of our experience as well.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Upon arriving to this hotel, the halls were not air conditioned, and quite hot. The elevator was dark and hot as well, with doors that open and shut very slowly. The beds were decent and comfortable. The fold-away bed was pointless- I would've rather slept on the floor than on the fold-away bed. The bathroom floor was sticky, and the counters looked dirty as well. There were only two towels in the bathroom. When we called down to the front desk to ask for more towels, we were asked to come down because they were 'very busy'. Upon arriving at the front desk I saw no one in the lobby and the attendant merely yelling at her kids and not doing much at all. The TV was also staticky and loud. The air conditioner in the room clicked on and off several times during the night, waking me up several times. I would definitely dissuade people from staying at this hotel!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank anchurch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We wanted a hotel with an indoor pool and other hotels were completely booked. Check-in was quick. When we entered our room, the first impression was that it was dark. Upon entering the bathroom, there was a live brown recluse spider floating in the toilet! The bathroom floor tile could use a heavy duty scrubbing. The shower stall looked like a new replacement. There were only two large towels provided. The hotel could use some remodeling but a really good cleaning is desperately needed. The pool area appeared clean. The pool is somewhat narrow. It stated capacity was 58, but there is no way you could get 58 people in it. The outdoor pool size was about 20' by 20' -- very small. When we turned the TV off to go to sleep, it was evident there was no insulation between the rooms. We could hear everything from their music playing to a child coughing. The ice machine on the first floor was emply. The machine on the second floor was out of order and the machine on the third floor was missing. The side doors of the hotel should require a key card to enter but anyone could open them. The only plus was the cost of the hotel. All in all, I guess you get what you pay for. Spend the extra 20-30 dollars and stay in a nicer hotel if possible.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
18
Reviewed March 30, 2005

The quality of service at this hotel has taken a precipitous nosedive since Miss Patti's sold it. The staff is as friendly and helpful as ever, considering, but the manager is uppity and downright rude. The continental breakfast is scanty, to say the least, room accomodations are in poor working order, and not enough staff is on duty for proper operation of the hotel. We'll be looking at different hotels in future trips downstate.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2004

Miss Patties is being remodeled, but in the meantime it is pretty tacky. The parking lot was littered with trash, the pool and hot tub were merky, the common areas were not air conditioned, and the room we were in had few of the advertised amenities. Maybe this is considered a three star hotel in India, but certainly not here in Illinois.

7  Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#3 of 15 in Marion
661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Motel 6 Marion
Motel 6 Marion
#11 of 15 in Marion
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#6 of 15 in Marion
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1806 Bittle Pl, Marion, IL 62959-4618 (Formerly Miss Patti's Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Price Range: $56 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Marion
Marion Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing