We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Nearby Hotels
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Marion(Marion)(Great Value!)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn Marion(Marion)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Marion(Marion)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
186
57
10
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
57
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsgluten free bagelssmells brand newgreat showerexcellent roomawesome breakfastadjoining roomsnewer hotelfront desk staffrecommend this hotelstaff was very friendlybreakfast bardefinitely stay here againbreakfast staffking suitebeds were very comfortablevery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 256 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I wish TripAdvisor allowed us to rate by 1/2 notches as this is really a 4.5 hotel. The only detractors for us was the sense of limited soundproofing, the somewhat bland breakfast, the small exercise room and pool, a lack of an outside the bathroom sink, and a crowded lobby.

The rooms themselves are well appointed and look new, and are quite roomy and everything seemed clean. The bathrooms are likewise roomy and I liked the night light built into the bathroom blow dryer stand. I'm always wishing for an outside sink from the bathroom - not as common as they should be. These days we're getting spoiled, but because of the size of the room, the flat screen wall mounted TV looked small.

In reality we had 2 quiet weekday nights. However, when there was someone in the hallway or the room next door, we felt like we could hear everything that was moved or dropped. I suspect if there were screaming children or adults, it would make for a tough night. In our case, not. If I knew my suspicions were true, I would drop the rating a notch.

The exercise room had only 4 machines and a few balls and not much space to work with. The pool was small. The lobby was hosting travel bargain seminars both nights, with a table jammed up against the hallway by the elevator, which made it hard to get in and out of the elevator. The lobby was noisy and busy for the same reason. All personnel were nice and check in and out was efficient. Parking was adequate. The breakfast had a decent variety but everything tasted kind of "plastic". I would rate it average for hotel breakfast. Always better than nothing.

Overall, would have no hesitation staying again or recommending to others.

Room Tip: Our room had some traffic noise facing the entrance road. Rooms facing north or west would likely be the quietest.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmahaTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

OmahaTraveler57-

Thank you for taking the time write a review on your recent stay here with us! I am glad you found most of your stay to be outstanding, however we want all of your stay to be outstanding! Next time you are in the area please contact a member of our management staff to discuss your past stay and to please allow us to make up for it on your next stay. Thanks again for your feedback and again thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Absolutely top notch place. Not only is it beautiful, but the staff are even more wonderful. If you have the opportunity to meet the General Manager, Matt, I highly recommend it. Honestly cares about his guests as if you were staying in his home. We unexpectedly needed a meeting room a day early, and while his main room was booked he bent over backwards to find something that would work for us. He was in regular contact with us to make sure everything was going well and paid attention to every detail. We couldn't have had a better experience. Whether you're coming for a night or a week like us there is simply no place better anywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Tiffany E

Thanks for your great review! We really appreciate all the kind words and all of your business! Thanks again for everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on my way back to Ohio from San Antonio, and found this hotel to be a very enjoyable stay. Everything you'd expect from a Holiday inn Express. Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff. Recommend if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37Geese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for staying with us on your way back home to Ohio. All of your great feedback is very much appreciated and has been shared with all at our hotel! Thanks again and we hope to see you next time you are traveling out this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very clean hotel, with friendly staff willing to go that extra step to make your staff very comfortable. We rented the Jacuzzi suite and loved it.
If ever visiting the area again, we would gladly stay there. Extra bonus we found out they are pet friendly too!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your jacuzzi suite! Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stopped on our way south to Shiloh Battlefield in Tennessee.

New, clean, and friendly staff. Great king room with every amenity. Wall mounted HD TV, good WiFi with Ethernet cable. Excellent free breakfast in spacious seating area.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us! We take great pride in all of our guests' opinions and feedback. Great reviews like yours helped us win the Certificate of Excellence for 2013 and helps us set our sights on the award for 2014 as well. Thanks again for staying with us and hopefully we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews