We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay in Marion IL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Loves Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay in Marion IL”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

From the front desk to the morning breakfast staff, everyone was as pleasant as the surroundings we stayed in! The breakfast was excellent, the room was extremely clean, well decorated, the bed comfortable and the bath towels were of luxury quality. It was very quiet at all times. The exercise room and pool is a plus!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidzrn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    78
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
182
64
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Nicest hotel in our 3300 mile trek. Only complaint we could'nt check in at time stated for check in. Staff not real friendly. Room and bed nice. Felt like I could comfortably sleep in a clean environment. Breakfast -pleasant and well stocked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trusted01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Got two rooms for $71.50 a night each (plus taxes). Lots of room for the four of us. Everything neat and clean. Free breakfast was nothing fancy but still nicely done. Friendly staff. Don't know when I will be in Marion again, but I would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russiaville, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I had an email confirmation for my reservation, secured with a CC. I called 2 days prior and spoke with staff to confirm late arrival between 2-3 AM. Drove straight 7 hrs on way to Memphis, TN from Kokomo, IN, expecting room with two QN beds. Was informed by desk clerk that my room was given away at 11 PM and I was marked as a "NO SHOW." Really? I secured RES with my CC and would be expected to pay for the room if I canceled my reservation. Yet CIS gave my room away with no penalty! Desk clerk had to call a MGR at 2:35 AM to find out how to handle their error. I was given a KG suite with a SOFA bed with 2" mattress at a discounted price and told it would be $10 extra for a roll-a-way bed. Four adults only stopped to sleep and wanted the two comfy QN beds we were promised. I was told they would switch my room "tomorrow." What part of our "few hours" stay did they not understand? Poor communication and staff not empowered to compensate with complimentary stay or secure room at a competitor hotel. Never again for this hotel and possibly the hotel chain itself.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MBrown4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This was the perfect place to stop after a long day on the road. My family of five stayed in a King suite, and there was plenty of space. The room was clean and fresh smelling. We heard nothing in our room and remarked that we felt as though we were the only ones staying in the hotel!
The staff was wonderful as well. Very friendly and helpful.
This hotel is close to plenty of places to eat. There is a Walmart right down the street as well.
There were plenty of items on the breakfast bar and seating was great.
Another plus was that they had parking for our UHaul. There was a large gravel lot with lighting.
Overall, a great place to stay. Quiet, no room funk, plenty of space, and a great price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, IL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Everytime we come through the area we're sure to call ahead to make sure we get a room here! The entire staff is wonderful! Friendly desk clerks, smiling housekeepers, the sweetest ladies working the breakfast area too! The beds are comfy with plenty of pillows, the pool is the biggest in the area, and it should be seeing as how this is the newest hotel in the area! The hot breakfast is such a treat, the waffles are wonderful you won't go hungry here! There are a few light snacks in the evenings, everyone smiles and it's cozy just like home!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We were not disappointed in this motel after picking it on Tripadvisor. The rooms were large and the breakfast featured both hot and cold choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#5 of 15 in Marion
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Address: 1306 Halfway Rd, Marion, IL 62959-5092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marion
#6 Business Hotel in Marion
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Marion Hotel Marion
Country Inn And Suites Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing