We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Calumet City
2 reviews
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I love this place. Everything was awesome. The room well ventilated, the bed was an excellent sleep, the water pressure in the shower was just right and breakfast was on great. Will stay here everytime I am this way.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie0762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    72
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
169
62
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say much about the value part as this was a rewards stay, but in looking at the pricing it seemed like a good value if you had to pay. We stayed here while visiting Southern Illinois University ( about 20 minutes away) and family. The hotel was immaculate throughout! It looked brand new. Lobby, great. Dining area, great. Pool and workout room, great. Our room looked new with the exception of the carpet. Don't get me wrong the carpet was clean, but it was not as new as the furniture. Staff was great. One note to point out, this hotel does allow pets. We wanted a room that did not have pets previously in it. The gentleman at the front desk said he could not say that a pet was in the room, but they try to keep the pets on the first floor ( for easy access to have them go outside). We were placed on the third floor ( room 303) and as I said the room was immaculate. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is my third time staying at this Hotel and each time it gets better. Service, Staff, rooms, amenities all were perfect!! Billing was flawless! Breakfast selection was awesome and the breakfast space was kept spotless by the staff. Anytime I'm in southern Illinois this is where I stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

First time we've stayed in a Country Inn property but definitely won't be the last. Extremely clean, very friendly staff, uber-comfortable beds - this place has everything to make your stay enjoyable. Loved the breakfast choices! Hot tub wasn't bad either! ;) Don't look any farther, THIS is the place you want to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Would never stay here again. Within 10 minutes of checking in with my grandchildren I get a phone call telling me to stop them from running. I explain that they r not running but r putting their swimsuits on. She being the rude individual that she was wouldn't listen. I said you can move us so we won't be over your office or give us our money back and we will go somewhere else. She refused. Then the pool I guess they rent it out for parties on the weekends. Unruly people adults and children so that 4 and 6 year olds are not safe in pool with people jumping on them. They finally left after 2 hours. Then was left with no towels for pool. Every chair wet and nasty from pool party. Looks like if your gonna rent it out after they leave come in and clean and pick up stuff. Maybe the rude woman from desk should have that job. Rooms weren't that nice or clean. We were afraid to walk around in the room much afraid we would get a call from desk. So never really enjoyed the night. Next time we will be spending the night at another hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judykayz, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service. To discuss your concern further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Judy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Chose at the last-minute to stop for the night, and avoid a snowstorm ahead of us. We were glad we stayed here. The hotel was very accomodating, glad to have us. Very clean, quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Hot breakfast was a nice compliment to the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonJ393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantine, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hubby developed a pinched nerve over a week ago while driving truck. I drove down a 3 days ago. He was in another hotel, which was adequate for him, but not for my asthma and for two of us. Our daughter found this hotel for us at a very reasonable rate. The breakfast is wonderful-I have to eat gluten free, so the offerings are not as good as for the average person, but I always travel prepared. Hubby can get what he usually eats with extra embellishments that make breakfast even more appetizing. Fresh made waffles, biscuits and gravy, frittatas, juice, oatmeal, fruit, sausage, to name a few things. The coffee is excellent, too. The staff is great-friendly and very helpful. Our room is clean, comfortable, well decorated, nice view, a nice home away from home. I can't imagine how this hotel could be any better. Maybe an in house massage therapist? Love it!
There are many good restaurants in the area, some within very easy walking distance. Shopping is close as well. So are medical professionals-hospitals, chiropractors, walk in clinic, acupuncture, just about anything you need close by. The hotel also has a guest laundry that costs very little. They also have a hot tub/whirlpool, pool, exercise room. You can also borrow books for all ages from their small but adequate library.
If one has to be stuck somewhere for any reason, this is the place! Or just passing through. If we pass through again, we will most definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The room we are in hasn't been noisy. The hotel is close to an interstate and highway, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Address: 1306 Halfway Rd, Marion, IL 62959-5092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marion
#6 Business Hotel in Marion
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Marion Hotel Marion
Country Inn And Suites Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing