We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a good price”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hotel was very clean. Staff very nice. Room very quiet. Pillows a little too soft but bed was comfy Loved the chocolate chip cookies at check in! Pool was pretty nice but bottom needed to be painted in some spots. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boropeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    79
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
184
64
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dwight illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The staff at the Country Inn and Suites couldn't have been more accomidating. The rooms were clean, and the location - accross the street from the 17th Street barbecue restaurant was fabulous. There is currently road construction on the I57 bridge which can make it a bit difficult to get there, but it is worth the effort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snootyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Superb service and great place to stay. This property is well managed with great service. Very clean and just overall nice especially for this area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravler1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was our first stay at a Country Inn Suites. When we arrived the staff was very welcoming and bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. I have never been greeted more warmly at a hotel and was pleasantly surprised. There were freshly baked chocolate chip cookies at the desk and coffee and tea available at all times!

The pool and hot tub looked very clean and many people were enjoying themselves.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The sheets were not very high thread count...maybe 300. The pillows were very nice feather pillows, however I am allergic to feathers. I called the desk and they very promptly replaced my pillows with regular pillows and were very kind in the process.

The cable was very basic which is not a big deal to me since I usually read, but if you want to watch TV you might be disappointed.

In the morning, the breakfast was very average. To be fair, we were there on a weekend when I believe every hotel in town was sold out due to graduation. There were not many choices and the coffee ran out several times. They were quick to replace it and very apologetic, but they had a very difficult time keeping up with the crowd. The breakfast room is very large and every table was full. I am sure on a normal day it is much better. I do wish hotels would use real eggs!!!

Here is where the "poor" rating comes in...while we were packing up and getting ready to check out my ankles were itchy. I had not really stopped to consider why until I noticed a dog in the lobby. Yes, I had flea bites! I guess that is the chance you take if you go to a pet friendly hotel. It is now 2 days later and I am still itchy! I don't think it was worth the $175 I paid for the room. Tomorrow I am going to call the hotel to let them know. I did not tell them while I was there because there was a very long line and we needed to leave.

I wish there were a separate rating for service because truly everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely kind and welcoming...unfortunately the fleas were also friendly! Beware!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor. The attendant told us those rooms are used less often and cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smocky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left, we were extremely happy with this hotel. While pulling into the parking lot of the hotel, right away we could tell this hotel meant business. Very nice landscaping, trash free, and an overall pleasant looking hotel. We were promptly greeted and assisted as soon as we walked through the lobby doors. Both front desk personnel were professional and a pleasure to deal with. We were checked in and off to our rooms in a short period of time. (The chocolate chip cookies at the front desk at the bomb!) The hallways were clean and smelled fresh. Once we were settled in the room, the phone rang and it was the front desk checking to ensure our room was to our liking -- awesome!

The next morning we were able to have a nice breakfast downstairs in the lobby. Many tables for guests to sit with a complimentary USA Today. Breakfast area was well stocked, clean and pretty good food. The lady working the breakfast area was really working hard and was really nice while busting her butt to ensure enough food was available.

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepagej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very nice and new. Rooms were clean and spacious. Nice bathrooms with Pantene shampoo/conditioner. Nice adjustable shower head. Indoor pool (didn't use but it was there and they even had water aerobics classes.) Small gym available. Free breakfast was good, especially the "Golden Malted" waffle batter. Would like to have a box of that for myself. Convenient location in Marion. Close to restaurants and the interstate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed at the Country Inn with my dog and was very pleased. The Inn does charge $15.00 extra for a pet, but it was worth it. The beds are comfortable although I did have a bit of a problem with the people in the room above me stomping around. Getting a room on a higher floor would solve that.

Very clean, nice decor and a very good breakfast. I usually stay at Hamptons and the breakfast at the Country Inn is much better.

Several restaurants within easy walking distance is a plus when you've been on the road all day and don't want to get back in the car.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor will keep you form hearing the people above you stomping around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanilz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#4 of 15 in Marion
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Address: 1306 Halfway Rd, Marion, IL 62959-5092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marion
#6 Business Hotel in Marion
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Marion Hotel Marion
Country Inn And Suites Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing