We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peace & paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“peace & paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Ok so I just recently returned from vacation. I am from America and I stayed at this resort for 8 days with my girlfriend who is from and lives in the Philippines. The owners were not there the whole time we were there. They were in Denmark at home there. It was being ran by the filipino staff, which by the way. Was a great staff! and friendly people. Let me say a few things about the trip to Coral Bay.

The ride to the boat.
-We got into Busuanga airport around 11 am. Christine among some of the other filipino staff from Coral Bay met us outside the terminal. We got into a van and began our trip to the dock. The van had air conditioning, which was pleasant. The scenery to the dock was beautiful. The road was rough at times but, your going to a place that not many ppl ever get to see. So you can't expect paved roads everywhere you go. The ride only took about 45 mins to 1 hour. We didn't go to Coron Town like other resorts, we were taken to a small pier in some bay somewhere.

The boat ride to Coral Bay
-When we got to pier where the boat was going to pick us up, the boat wasn't there yet. They were on there way there to pick us up, it was ok because the scenery around the pier was breathtaking, so very good oppurunity to take some lovely pictures. We only waited for about 20 minutes, When the boat arrived we go onto the Banca and headed to Coral Bay. The trip only lasted about an hour. We got to see alot of the beautiful islands and dive locations on our way to the resort. Christine was pointing out alot of stuff to use throughout the boat ride.
***Be sure to ask them to put ur bags in the back inside the cabin so they won't get wet from any rain or the water splashing up against the side of the boat. We didn't have a problem with it, but I can see where someone might complain about it.

Our stay at Coral Bay
-Arriving at Coral Bay, the staff workers took our luggage to our room and Christine was giving us a tour of everything at the resort. Besides me and my girlfriend, there was no other guest, just the filipino staff workers.

Our room
-We had a private cottage right on the beach. It was perfect for a couple just wanting to get away from civilization. We never were bothered there. The housekeeper came in everyday whenever we were out exploring or relaxing around the resort and cleaned the room for us.

Now about the resort. It only has electricity from 6pm to 6am, which is not bad at all. Just make sure you charge your batteries at night. You'll almost certainly wake up whenever the power goes out because the fan turns off. Which is totally fine, because you can go make yourself some coffee and enjoy the sunrise or go for a swim in the bay while the sunrises. Its very peaceful in the morning.

The food at the resort is absolutely amazing! The breakfast is the only thing that doesn't change. Only a couple breakfast options but its still delicious. Everything from lunch and dinner and the short order menu, is out of this world. Its so strange because your out in the middle of no where, you wouldn't expect the food to be sooo delicious. But it is.

The activities to do around the island.
-Swimming
-Snorkeling
-Island Hopping
-Hiking
-Visit small fishing village
-Coron Town tour
-Scuba Diving
-Pool table

We did every activity this place had to offer but the diving, which I can't do because of a bad ear problem I have. But we enjoyed everything and did some of the activities multiple times. I strongly suggest a kayak trip to twin islands, they'll even pack a lunch for you, or you can even get a tent from the staff and food and you can camp out and have a fire on the beach on the uninhabited twin islands. Its beautiful. You can ask any of the staff about places to hike but I strongly suggest talking to Luls, I think thats how its spelled. She was very knowledgable about the island and places to hike or kayak to. She took us to the other side of the island, it was beautiful and totally untouched by humans. Amazing!

The staff at the resort was really just downright awesome. Fun, friendly, and they will bend over backwards to make your comfortable. Me and my gf hung out with some of the staff quite often throughout our stay. My gf knowing there language was a huge bonus for all of us when it came to communication. We did everything with the staff including eating together, drinking, we even went to the nearby fishing village and had a fun night of karaoke. And if you like to shoot some pool, the staff loves to play. Dont be shy to talk to any of them, they are all nice and friendly.

Now i stayed there for 8 nights, had the best room they have at the resort, did every activity but diving and had a huge bar tab. And i only ended up spending 1000 dollars. GREAT VALUE!!!

We were very sad to leave the resort but overall, I think it was one of the best relaxing weeks of my life. I can't stop thinking about my stay there, it was amazing.


To end this, I'm just gonna give you a list of Pro's and Con's to wrap it up.

Pro's
-Location
-Price
-Staff
-Food
-Activities
-24hr wi-fi

Con's
-Mosquitos
-12 hours of electricity
-rain (if it does rain, it only rains for 10 minutes usually, and maybe only a few times a day, but its nice to get some rain if your hot hiking through the jungle under the sun)


THANK YOU CORAL BAY!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asmith8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    60
    13
    18
    18
See reviews for
33
92
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Coral bay is a beautiful little resort, far away from noise, stress and the city. You will have to sail a couple of hours from Coron, to get to Coral Bay, but it is worth the trip. When you are leaving Coral Bay, make sure to leave as early as possible (We left at 6am), so you can enjoy the stunning sunset at the sea.

There is nothing much to do in this resort, besides relaxing, tanning and diving. So if you are looking for a party or something like that, you will get bored here.

The food is lovely here, and the restaurant is almost build in the water, so it is very soothing to sit and eat while you relax and enjoy yourself.
There is no electricity at night, so it gets a little to hot at night without a fan, but it helps with a dip in the sea in the morning, 2 meters from your bungalow.

The owners could seem a bit arrogant, but once you get to know them they are very nice people and have a lot of useful information about the area, diving ect.

I would visit Coral Bay again if I get the chance!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RazzyRazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort is as close you can get to Paradise. Been there twice and will come back again. The staff and owners are absolute fantastic. The food is fresh and excellent.
The diving is outstanding and you will taken to places you never dreamt about.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robobaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Wowww. This resort will be our favorit holiday spot. No noice, no discos, no people that is trying to sell you a lot of junk.
Fantastic staff, great buffet evry eving,. The locaition is fantastic. Last Island before Vietnam, the owners is diving instruktures and the reef is just 50 meter from the beach. how nice can t be?
If you will get away from stress THIS is THE place... looking forward to visit again..
Thanks to the staff and to Monica and Ulf for a unforgetable holliday... See you all again as soon as posible.. :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soren_lauritzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Really glad that we chose this resort!

Resort: The environment is excellent! You can do snorkeling, kayaking, trekking, or simply chilling at the beach, for free!!
Room: Our cottage was facing right direct the beautiful sea! There is a hammock for you to just relax and enjoy the vacation! No mosquitoes probably because of the mosquito net? Everything about the room is good except that there is no hotel shower.
Meals: 3 meals are included - breakfast, lunch, and dinner! The food is great! And we can enjoy the meals while looking at the beautiful sea!
Service: Very good.
Location: 1.5-2 hours of boat ride from the Coron Town.

We walked far away one afternoon and came home late. People at the resort were worried and sent out a rescue team to look for us! They were so kind!

Scuba diving: Really good! Our instructor was a Swedish guy who was very professional and friendly. Not expensive and so much fun!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salmon_sushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

verdict:
depend on you amount of money you want to spend, but coral bay is a very nice place to be and relax, the food is excellent and the wracks are near. if you are a diver and want to save money (do 3 dives a day) i would stay in coron, because coral bay is not cheep, but when you want to relax it is perfect!
there is only one big issue, that you have your neighbors so close to you, and if they are noisy the fun is over very fast. (see cons)
i definitely would go again to this resort!

pros:
- very very good Food, you always get meat, fish, salat and desert :-) you even get lobster, crap and other stuff!
- very clean
- helpful stuff
- nice house riff, as it is not deep, it is perfect to snorkel
- diving with monika (the boss) is fun, you can relay on her
- kayaks, Billard, Library, Board- Games for free


cons:
- in one bungalow, there are up to four rooms together. as the wall's are made of bambo, you hear the neighbors pretty good
- the wind does not blow through, but you get a fan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joe_19751975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed for 7 nights at Coral Bay and it was above our expectations
It is a very secluded place, quiet but many things to do if you want or just read a book by the bungalow.
Accommodation: excellent bungalow style, great view on the coastline. Only electricity from 6pm to 6am, not a problem. There is also a pool table, gym, books, massage available.
The location: quite remote, no roads, pure nature, some coral reef just 100m from the shore with great fishes and warm waters. The bay is always calm with the regular heron fishing and the sound of jumping fish
Activities: kayacking to the mangrove, walking to the fishing village, or going to other islands is a must, diving or snorkelling to the local reef or other reefs
Service: the people at the resort are great and always ready to help. The manager is good when you talk to him, it is more difficult to get info from Monica but other people at the resort are helpful. You will have to talk to the other guest to get a few for a boat trip as nothing is really organised. It is very layback management style.
Food: a bit repetitive at times but why would you complain to have crabs or “rock lobster” (Moreton bay bugs) every second day..... Otherwise, it is very healthy, soup, veges, meat, seafood and fruits and cake

Overall: excellent stay....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlainrlgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popototan Island
14.8 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
8.7 mi away
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Busuanga Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Concepcion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
24.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
21.8 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
22.5 mi away
Coron Westown Resort
Coron Westown Resort
#8 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort
Address: Popototan Island 5317, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Popototan Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Popototan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Bay Beach and Dive Resort is on Popototan Island, hearth of Coron region Palawan archipelago, situated in a remote and pristine Marine Park conservation area. Nestled amongst a beautiful archipelago of tropical islands, pearl farms and reefs. We offer you the peace and serenity of an island hideaway with activities and options to learn Scuba Diving or dive on historical famous WW2 Japanese shipwrecks. Explore this fantastic area! Experience nature's magnificent beauty! We are happy to have a fantastic training ground with direct access from our Pier and a magnificent house reef with our very own Wreck where a large school of Jack fishes have made their home. WW2 shipwrecks provide unique ground for wreck penetration courses, deep and Nitrox training. Furthermore there's also many options for diving shipwrecks, beautiful reefs and unique geothermal lakes on half or full day excursions. Common species found on our reef include the beautiful flamboyant Lionfish, a huge school of swirling Jacks, a resident Goliath Grouper, regular visits from everyone’s favorite Hawksbill Turtle, Crocodile fishes, Rays, Trigger fish, Sweet lips, Cuttlefish, Clown fish s and a massive variety of macro to excite even the most experienced snorkelers. We also have regular visits from Dugongs (Sea cows) on the South Side of our reef From the resort, we offer as well day trips to other Islands, where you can enjoy the silence and beauty of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Beach & Dive Hotel Busuanga
Coral Bay Beach And Dive Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing