We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of Blue Sky Vineyard

Blue Sky Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Makanda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We did the wine tasting. We were there on a Wednesday and it got extrememly busy while we were there. Person pouring wine was unable to stay with us as he went to several other groups. So there was a lag between tastings. We each tried 5 wines and shared our tastes. Out of 10 we found 2 that we liked well enough to purchase. Very beautiful view out the back windows so we got an appetizer and glasses of wine and enjoyed the ambience for a bit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kstravlr_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    41
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Winery”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

You just have to check it out. Good wine. Good atmosphere. Interesting artwork. The drive to get there, one of a kind!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelinpinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful wines, staff, and facility”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited during their Colorfest. The staff is amazingly helpful. The facility is beautiful. This would be an amazing venue for a wedding. The wines are wonderful with a good variety.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa19_21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Beautiful building and landscaping. Live music, food, and wines. We did the tasting there and had lunch. It was fine, but crowded and had a lot of college students from nearby colleges. A place I would have loved a few years ago and still enjoyed last month. Has rooms to rent if you book in advance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChelleH_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea IL
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A grand vineyard and setting”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The building and grounds at the Blue Sky are the best along the Shawnee Wine Trail. The wine was great but the relaxing atmosphere was great. You can miss this great place when in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Blue Sky Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing