We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once the word gets out about this place - it'll be difficult to get a room!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makanda Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Makanda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once the word gets out about this place - it'll be difficult to get a room!”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Great food, fantastic service.
Would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandbloverIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
125
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The Inn, the hospitality, the food, the beds and the setting were all wonderful and just what you want when in Southern Illinois enjoying the wine tour, the hiking and the down home feel. We enjoyed everything about the Inn from the fabulous breakfast to the very cozy and luxurious beds to the wonderful deck that is just right for an early morning stretch.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highenergyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Loved the Makanda Inn. Hospitaly was wonderful, and the breakfast the following morning was top notch. The rooms are very comfortable, and nature / "go green" centered, which we liked even more. Anyone looking for a unique, comfortable, private location for their stay in Souther IL wine country should highly consider the Makanda Inn. We will definitely be returning, and are recommending friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoundDogMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

The breakfasts were out of this world!
The decor, wood work, stone work are exceptional!
I can't wait to for my next stay!
Who know staying inside a straw bale structure could be so luxurious!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBQueen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We were drawn to the place by the information on the website that featured the green innovations in the construction of the building. The inn is well suited for hikes in the State Park, enjoying the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail or any of the many activities in the area. Janelle and her husband made us feel very welcome and prepared wonderful breakfasts for us each day. It had the attractions of a bed & breakfast with the privacy and comfort of an upscale hotel. A wonderful addition to Shawnee Hills area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenerFlossmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

A beautiful B&B in a fantastic setting. The Inn is calming and furnished with many natural materials. Janelle is an excellent host and fine chef. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceeceetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Spouse & I were some of first guests at the Inn which just opened in April. Found it on the Net & the eco-friendly, innovative building design intrigued us. Unique among all B & B we've ever stayed at. Service was terrific. Breakfasts were super, highlighting organic, healthy menus but each was delicous. Truly a beautiful building hidden in the woods but less than 10miles from Carbondale & "civilization." The ultimate in privacy, plush linens, wonderful bed, great amenities. Only complaint was lack of comfortable seating, other than the bed in room. Bathroom lighting could have been a bit better. Would recommend the Inn as a unique getaway for adults.
Giant City State Park Lodge is close by for lunch & dinner every day if desired, which was convenient. Inn is located in heart of Shawnee Wine Trail area so lots to see. A good place to "escape" from the outside world for a few days. We enjoyed 3 nights at the Inn.

Helpful?
1 Thank wiserandolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makanda
8.7 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
16.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
16.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda Inn & Cottages

Property: Makanda Inn & Cottages
Address: 855 Old Lower Cobden Rd, Makanda, IL 62958-3120 (Formerly Makanda Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Makanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Makanda
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B & B experience in the Inn! Southern Illinois first, Eco-Friendly Inn & 3 Private Cottage accommodations. Open year round! The four suites in the Inn are operated as a B&B, where you will enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. There are three cottages,2 are one bedroom and 1 is a two bedroom - two bath cottage. Breakfast is not included in the cottages, however it can be purchased on a limited basis. As a cottage guest, you are invited to utilize the common area of the Inn for your enjoyment and to access the free Wi-Fi service. The cottages do not have Wi-fi service. Inn suites have a refrigerator and coffee maker. The one bedroom cottages have a kitchenette which includes a two burner stove, sink, refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. The two bedroom cottage has a full size kitchen. We proudly serve Steam Shovel Coffee, a local micro roasted coffee that is supplied freshly ground in your suite and fresh beans are provided in the cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makanda Hotel Makanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing