We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Escape”
Review of Corner George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corner George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Maeystown B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delightful Escape”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Maeystown is truly an escape from the "real" world – and staying at the Corner George absolutely made our trip. Owners Marsha and David are friendly, accommodating, hospitable, personable, and knowledgeable. The epitome of hosts! Breakfasts at the Inn were delicious, with fresh fruit, muffins, quiche, and juice … such a treat! Suggestions for places to dine were spot on. Both owners were available to answer questions and provide directions around the area. We stayed two nights in the McReynolds room and could not be happier. (the bed was so comfortable that now I am home I realize I must need a new mattress!) If you are in the area or want to get away for the weekend - don't miss this tucked away gem of a B & B.

Room Tip: The McReynolds Room has a small twin bed that is much like a day bed. Someone could easily sleep th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We were visiting family in Waterloo, and had booked a room here for the weekend.
We were told that the AC is acting up when we arrived, but we didn't think too much about it. After getting to the room the Innkeeper came to our room and told us that we can stay in the cottage if we want, because he thought that the room was just too hot.
We took him up on it, and we loved the cottage too. And there was no extra charge for that (since I saw somebody post how greedy the innkeeper is...I would have to disagree)
The breakfast was on the healthy side AND tasty. I also enjoyed the gift shop...so many neat little thing sto pick up.
I would def. stay there again. It also was not a very long drive to Waterloo or St. Louis

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is our second stay at the Corner George Inn and an equally delightful stay it was. Maeystown and the inn itself are like taking a step back in time. Wrought with history and unique antiques there is something to look at and learn about everywhere you look. Our hosts David and Marsha were delightful and we thoroughly enjoyed all our breakfasts. If you are looking for a unique getaway this is the place to come.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monika301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Picture this… A horse and rider ascend Main Street as you leave a gourmet coffee shop, where beans are roasted and grinded before your eyes. Many of the surrounding buildings are made of stone, and a saloon across the way has a wooden bar reminiscent of the Wild West serving O’Fallon dark beer from a nearby micro-brewery. These are some sites we saw upon our arrival to Maeystown, Illinois. Only minutes from St. Louis, this 160 year old German town features buildings lovingly restored to their original splendor, and one is the Corner George Inn. We can’t say enough about our hosts David and Marcia Braswell, the gentle and generous innkeepers who operate this lovely B&B. We had our own suite, which is actually an entire apartment. An exposed stone wall with deep set windows was wonderful to gaze out from our antique iron bed, and in the bath was a claw foot, oh-so-deep, antique tub! David Braswell spent the whole first evening with us explaining the history of the town (he is a German language and cultural scholar), setting up a golf outing and tours for the following day, and then recommending area restaurants. We enjoyed Gallaghers, the Dreamland Palace, and Frederico’s, all near to Maeystown. Breakfast is served in a gorgeous ballroom filled with antique furnishings, and combines a delicious array of fresh fruits, gourmet delicacies, and beverages. For one needing extra rest and a long lie-in, breakfast was delivered to my room, which was a service above and beyond! If you need rest, relaxation, and a visit to the simplicity and elegance of the 19th century, check out the Corner George Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawneeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvbondale, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The Inn Keepers are greedy and seem to care only for themselves. The town is nice but the people there are not. It needs to have historical zoning to keep the modern buildings out and he "bar" is modern. Overall I would not go back considering the many authentic places one could stay at. Clearly the town fathers do not want to see the village become more than a bump in the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank independent31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had a opportunity to spend two days at the Lovely Corner George in Maeystown. The inkeepers, Marcia and David, were wonderful hosts with a wealth of knowledge and history of the local area. While walking the hills of the village, I was reminded of the smilarity of the area to the hills in Germany. (The area has quite a long connection with Germany)

While we were there, the village was celebrating it's homecomming, complete with a parade with fire trucks, tractors, pretty little girls, floats and marching bands! Quite a great slice of Americana to enjoy.

The area is really photogenic, being a camera nut, I could not take a bad photo. The stay at the Inn was very nice and highly recommend a stay at this peaceful place. PS - Check out the Kaffeehaus and antique store accross the street, great coffee and hot cholocate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveP7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Inn is very well kept, and the grounds it sets on are beautiful. Country setting with beautiful scenery. The town of Mayestown is such a cute quaint place. We will be back as soon as possible!! The Inn Keepers were so nice & helpful, couldn't have asked for more!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehrta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maeystown
20.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sainte Genevieve
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Sainte Genevieve
384 reviews
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Waterloo
Super 8 Waterloo
#1 of 1 in Waterloo
181 reviews
9.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Festus
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Festus - South St. Louis
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Festus
Comfort Inn Festus
#3 of 4 in Festus
116 reviews
9.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Festus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corner George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner George Inn

Property: Corner George Inn
Address: 1101 Main Street, Maeystown, IL 62256
Location: United States > Illinois > Maeystown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maeystown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corner George Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 miles south of St. Louis, the inn was originally built as a hotel and saloon in 1884 by George Jacob and Sibilla Hoffmann. After the turn of the century the hotel became a residence and the saloon found new life as the village general store. In 1989 after 18 months of restoration David and Marcia Braswell reopened the former hotel as a bed & breakfast. The inn consists of three buildings: the original inn, the summer kitchen and the 1859 rock house. There are a total of six guest rooms each with a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Corner George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing