We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about the Corner George Inn!”
Review of Corner George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corner George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Maeystown B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Inn is very well kept, and the grounds it sets on are beautiful. Country setting with beautiful scenery. The town of Mayestown is such a cute quaint place. We will be back as soon as possible!! The Inn Keepers were so nice & helpful, couldn't have asked for more!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehrta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2010

This was my second trip back to Maeystown to stay at The Corner George Inn. Maeystown was celebrating their anual " Old Fashion German Christmas Festival" it was as wonderful as expected. There were many activities throughout the day these are only a few I would like to share with you. I enjoyed a free carrage ride through the town and sang Christmas Carols in German in the Ballroom. There were many wonderful musicians performing throughout the day and what fun to see St. Nikolaus arrive on an antique fire truck with the brass band. There was a nice variety of food and pastry ( I sampled everything). After we enjoyed the sounds of hammered dulcimer and carols being sung the traditional lighting of the Weinachtsbaum took place. I think I've found my home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emailjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The moment I arrived at the Corner George Inn the staff came out of the Inn to greet me and assist with my bags. After I was escorted to my beautiful room by the Innkeeper (Marcia) she told me a short history of the Inn then asked if I would like to tour the rest of the Inn. The Inn is like stepping back in history with the wonderful antiques, floral patterns, and contrasting colors . Every day I stepped out of the Inn (I stayed five days) it was a new discovery or experience, the stone bridge, the spring fed creek, church, the museum, and the most wonderful extended tour of the town with David (Innkeeper and wonderful town historian) to narrate and guide us. The breakfast, muffins, and spiced tea (a family recipe) served daily in the magnificent Ballroom should make restaurant reviews. If you choose to venture out go on line and check out the surrounding towns they have many wonderful restaurants for lunch and dinner and there are lots of attractions to see or sit and read a book in the garden area or in the area upstairs overlooking the garden. This is a great place to take a break from your busy life to unwind, relax, or be adventurous. I am returning in December for the German Christmas festivities and plan to spend many more vacations at the Corner George Inn with the most gracious Innkeepers David and Marcia Braswell.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank emailjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Corner George Inn is a hidden gem in Maeystown, IL. The innkeepers, Marcia and David make you feel comfortable and at home. The rooms are charming, decorated with period antiques and quilts. A beautiful and DELICIOUS breakfast is served each morning in the ballroom on a huge antique table handed down in David's family. They supply a game table with current and entertaining games and there are even a piano and organ they invite you to play. A wonderful cold spiced tea is served each evening and we were even given sliced dessert breads (also available next door at the Sweet Shop). I had a wonderful and relaxing trip with shopping and dining in the surrounding towns. I give this trip a 5 star (*****) rating...definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharleneSaintLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We have returned numerous times to the quaint, historic village of Mayestown. The Corner George Inn is a quiet, relaxed, unstressed destination almost within sight of the bustle of St. Louis. The innkeepers, Marsha and David, and their staff are gracious, attentive, and make every effort to insure a pleasant stay. The inn is furnished with beautiful antiques and is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast served is delicious and plentiful. The village itself is steeped in history which your innkeepers will be happy to share with you over a cup of coffee. For a unique experience, try out the Summer Kitchen. Mayestown is convenient to fine dining options, several local wineries, and accessible to Ste. Genevieve, MO by river ferry. The charm of this small village is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLASt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Had a nice stay at this historic B & B. Very picturesque. The owners were very personable and accommodating. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHighRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The person that owns this Inn was very rude and greedy. Don't stay at this place even though the village is nice.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corner George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner George Inn

Address: 1101 Main Street, Maeystown, IL 62256
Location: United States > Illinois > Maeystown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maeystown
Price Range: $103 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corner George Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 miles south of St. Louis, the inn was originally built as a hotel and saloon in 1884 by George Jacob and Sibilla Hoffmann. After the turn of the century the hotel became a residence and the saloon found new life as the village general store. In 1989 after 18 months of restoration David and Marcia Braswell reopened the former hotel as a bed & breakfast. The inn consists of three buildings: the original inn, the summer kitchen and the 1859 rock house. There are a total of six guest rooms each with a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Corner George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing