We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“BED BUGS.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Star Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BED BUGS.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Told the guy downstairs, hell I even showed him all the carcasses with my fresh blood in their nasty little bodies. He replied, "I know not what you are talking about." The [--]? Dude I'm literally showing you the disgusting bugs littered in your room and you have the audacity to say you can't see them?! He offered no refund, and not even an apology! So rude! I will never stay at the Star Motel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. Unless you want to get eaten alive and treated like you're crazy of course ^-^

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
1
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was unsure about staying. However the price was right, and we were only looking for the basics. We were very satisfied and will definitely stay again. The staff is very nice, and obviously want your stay to be pleasant. The room was comforable and clean. It is within easy walking distance of shopping, food, and a movie theatur. Note: the television has over 300 channels, and the nearby Hy-Vee grocery store has a good breakfast menu.

Room Tip: ask them to turn the thermastat on the frig before you arrive, and bring snacks, etc. they only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

the manager Ken will help and do what is possable for your stay they have closed circuit tv for security you are located within 3 miles of majority of anything to do in this town
I stayed for a month and half the wifi top notch receiving mail or packages great I cannot stress Ken does a great job his wife as well small comfy feel friendly helpful great place to stay good town to be if you have a choice

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray39401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the second time i have stayed at the star. The rooms are nice big and clean. The hotel is close to stores and restraunts. Ken and his wife are really nice people and very helpful. I travel for work and this place is great the rates are affordable and you can get weekly rates. I will stay here again anytime I am in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Appearance was not the greatest...but it is old! It was clean, comfortable and convenient. Staff was super nice and accommodating. AND...shower was hot all the way through! Would definately stay there again without a minute's hesitation. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Close restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmabarbsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Not the newest, cleanest or hip, but the price, room size and nice people make this a top value place to stay while in Macomb. Also good proximity to shopping, restaurants and the town square. There is a real nice Asian Buffet in the K-mart Plaza, right next door.

Room Tip: Call early, its a samll motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redriders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

This hotel apppears to have been neglrcted in the past but the current owners have been renovating as they can without raising the rates. They are friendly and open and are helpful and knowledgable about the area. The room I was in was a work in progress and was functional. The room was very clean and spacious with the ameneties (frig and microwave) clean, functioning and convienent. They are located very close to any needs. Good job and good luck with the new buisness!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0adQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macomb hotels
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Macomb
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Macomb
Hampton Inn Macomb
#1 of 7 in Macomb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Macomb
Super 8 Macomb
#3 of 7 in Macomb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Macomb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Macomb Inn
Macomb Inn
#7 of 7 in Macomb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Macomb Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Property: Star Motel
Address: 1507 E Jackson St, Macomb, IL 61455
Location: United States > Illinois > Macomb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Star Motel in Macomb Illinois we offer comfortable hotel/motel lodgings at affordable rates with friendly professional service and a convenient location. The new management of the Star Motel would like to invite you to our newly remodeled and refurnished hotel accommodations!All rooms feature complimentary wireless internet,Showtime,refrigerator and microwave.We offer basic rooms, clean, comfortable, and affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Macomb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing