We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad.”
Review of Hampton Inn Macomb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Macomb
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The staff were rude to one another in addition to the guests. It was a very unpleasant atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank elle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Elle K,

It is surprising to read a review from one of our guests who feels that the staff is rude to one another and to our guests. I know that my staff and I try to create an atomsphere of team building and one that is conducive to wowing our guests. It is unfortunate that you had that experience and I do apologize that we dropped the ball in making your stay anything less than exceptional. I would like to speak to you about your experience at our hotel, and I do hope to have the honor and privilege to make up for your recent experience. Please contact me at the hotel at (309)837-6000 at your earliest convenience.

Hospitably Yours,

Andrea Smith-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 416 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We love this hotel. Whenever we come in town to visit family. This is the place we stay...
Our only disappointment with this hotel.....is when it is NOT available.

Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly, comfortable staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbabe45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Good physical plant but the staff is slow and inept and not well trained. Very expensive for such a small town. The hotel staff seems more concerned about their rule book and less about providing excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inkerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HImac01, General Manager at Hampton Inn Macomb, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

I am very sorry that your experience at our hotel was not an exceptional one. It is my goal and passion that every guest that enters the doors have a wonderful stay. I would like to speak to you about the issues and problems you encountered while staying with us. Please contact me at the hotel at 309-837-6000 or via email at andrea.k.smith@hilton.com.

Hospitably Yours,


Andrea Smith-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here two nights in February, 2012. I have had to stay in several motels in Macomb over the years and I think this one is the nicest (it helps that it is one of the newest motels in Macomb). Beds were comfortable, rooms were quiet and breakfasts were decent. Staff was friendly and the workout room was adequate. I had only two complaints about the whole stay. There was a significant draft coming in from the air conditioning / heater unit area of the room. The other complaint was the rate. After taxes, my room was around $117 per night. This seems real high for a small town like Macomb. Other than that, I would plan on coming back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisMan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel. I was very surprised at the space in the room and the appointments. We were greeted promptly. The pool/hot tub area is very nice and clean. My room was perfect. Nice and clean. The only two problems I had was the tempurature and the noise. I wanted to turn the heat down and could not. So it was kind of warm in my room for my tastes. Also, it is very noisey. The walls are thin. I was on the 4th floor and I am thankful I was, I could hear people walking and could not imagine if I were below, plus my neighbor kept opening and closing the door and it shock the walls.
On a positive note the breakfast was very good and I even forgot my toothbruch and they supplied one to me. I would for sure stay here again, only if I got a room on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: Get one on the 4th floor. Otherwise you will hear everyone walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firebird350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HImac01, General Manager at Hampton Inn Macomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel! I want to tell you how much we appreciate your business and feedback. I value your feedback because it is a great learning tool for my whole team! It is our passion that every guest have an exceptional stay and that we offer unparallel service! We take pride in doing the little things and doing the ordinary extraordinarily well. Please don’t hesitate to call the front desk or a member of management if you ever experience issues such as your thermostat in the room not working or noise. It truly is our pleasure to assist in any way! We look forward to you returning to our property and as always, "We Love Having You Here"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel did not live up to it's rating. After checking in I was informed that they were having issues with hot water. It was too late to look for another hotel (not much to choose from in Macomb). The clerk was not friendly and seemed stressed. The room and bed were pretty nice but the bathroom was lacking in cleanliness. There were strange noises in the room all night (beeping noise, pipes rattling, etc.). The breakfast area is poorly set up with not much seating area unless you want to eat as a group. There was not much selection and there was no attendant to keep it clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HImac01, General Manager at Hampton Inn Macomb, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Rondot98,
I want to take this time to apologize for your experience at our hotel during your recent visit! I know that it was very frustrating to travel to Macomb and then find out that there was no hot water that inght in our hotel! We were working very hard to resolve the issues surrounding the water and not have it impact our guest, however it did prove more challenging than we expected. I have absolutely no words that I can offer to you other than I am truly sorry for having to experience a stressed out employee and a breakfast that was below your expectations. I would like to offer you our 100% satisfaction guarantee and return to you your money for your stay that night. It is my passion to ensure that every guest that walk through my doors, have an exceptional stay. Unfortunately, we dropped the ball on this experience, but I would love to get the opportunity to "WOW" you the next time you have to stay in Macomb! Please contact me at the hotel directly 309-837-6000 or via email at andrea.k.smith@hilton.com. I want to apologize again for any inconvenience caused and I also want to Thank you in advance for the chance to make this up to you and not only meet your expectations next time but to also exceed them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Had a king studio which was very clean and nicely apportioned, though I was surprised there was no microwave or mini fridge. Wireless internet worked fine. Very few occupants though it was break for university students, so population and demand was likely down in Macomb then. Water was turned off until 4 p.m. for repairs. Overall, it was a nice hotel. It is not one of the older ones; the Best Western (former Holiday Inn) has existed next door for much longer (I've used it over the years when in Macomb on business) and this has only been up a few years. Beds comfortable. One of the best options in Macomb.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macomb hotels
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Macomb
Super 8 Macomb
#3 of 7 in Macomb
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Macomb
19 reviews
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Macomb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Macomb Inn
2 mi away
Macomb Inn
Macomb Inn
#7 of 7 in Macomb
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Motel
Star Motel
#6 of 7 in Macomb
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Macomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Macomb

Address: 1639 E Jackson St, Macomb, IL 61455-2692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Macomb
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Price Range: $101 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Macomb 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to University of Western Illinois, restaurants, and shopping, the Hampton Inn Macomb, IL hotel is a perfect choice. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Macomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing