We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The employees were great....that's all folks” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Lyons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Lyons
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyons
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The employees were great....that's all folks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

When pulling up to the hotel I said this can't be it. Such a great neighbor hood and close to the Brookfield Zoo. Checking in was a great experience, I can't remember the young ladies name but she was friendly and willing to help with all questions. We get to the room and it was at least cleaned with old outdated walls, carpet, TV, curtains and air conditioning. For $65 what more could I expect but in the other subburbs outside of Chicago you get a nice updated room for that price. The remote for the tv didn't work, the phone barely worked (had to call front desk) and the air conditioner half worked. Positive things: Plenty of hot water, microwave & fridge in the room at no additional costs, nice for the 2 of us & not noisy at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trenbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    22
    23
    21
See reviews for
21
25
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

we had the misfortune of staying in this place in july 2013....air conditioner in room was leaking all over carpet. they did move us to another room but without the amenities in the previous room...even more annoy was that they rented out the same room we had the problem with to some other unfortunate people...what kind of place doesn't fix the problem in a room before renting it back out....will never return and doubt I would stay at a rodeway inn again if this is representative of their brand

Room Tip: my tip?? stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boxingroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyons hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lancaster, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

low quality, dirty room, tiny, towels, no wash-cloths, 1 little, tiny bar of soap. night manager could not speak-understand the English language. No heat, no service. I recommend sleeping in the park as a better choice. Never again!

Room Tip: Stay away from Rodeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 36grand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel couldn't get more things wrong. First they changed my reservations from double rooms to kings on a sold out night. Didn't work for 5 adults (no couples in the group). I had to call Choice Privileges main number to get the reservation corrected. The hotel literally had no heat. Turned off in the entire hotel and it was 45 degrees at night. Apparently they couldn't get the weather channel. The telephones weren't working room to room. The internet working for about 15 seconds every minute and it took over 10 minutes for the hot water to get hot. Avoid at all cost or good luck. I hope this hotel gets it's act together.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
700 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

OK, this motel is not great, but the rooms were fairly clean though there are in need of updating. This motel will serve you if you need a convenient place to stay in the area (e.g., Brookfield Zoo) and you don't want to spend too much money. There was a significant gap under the door and the towels were a bit rough; otherwise the place was OK. Surprisingly, there was little traffic noise (I expected more). The breakfast room was fine. Did not go into the pool. Just needed a convenient place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I, along with our young adult daughter and niece, spent two nights at the Rodeway Inn. We booked at the last minute and were only able to get two smoking rooms, but they honestly weren't bad. In fact the rooms, though worn and in need of a serious update, were comfortable. The towels are indeed humorously thin and small. Breakfast was provided and was adequate (although the creamers were coagulated and I had to use the milk intended for cereal in order to manage a cup of coffee). At night, the grounds are rather dark and there were some interesting and rather noisy people coming and going, but we experienced no problems with noise overnight or with anyone bothering us. So, all in all, our stay was fine. The price was low and the location was very close to the family we were visiting. We'll likely stay there again at some point in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pittsburghproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

To start off with the positives: the room was large, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. That's about it. I won't go into the lack of bath towels that everyone else has mentioned. First, there was no soap,and when I went to get some, the girl didn't seem to care that we needed to shower right then; she kept saying, "I'll try to get you some later". My husband located a maid who told him there was no soap, but gave him shampoo. The first "big" problem came when I tried to blow dry my hair and blew out all the power in the room. While talking to the (same) girl at the desk, she seemed like it was completely normal to tell me that all the rooms on our side of the building had older wiring, and it would go out when using a blow dryer (we were in room 28). The man behind the desk actually suggested that I take my blow dryer into the pool room and use the outlet there! We finally shut off all the lights in our room so I could finish. Upon returning to the hotel later, I first noticed that there were a lot of people just hanging out in the parking lot, then realized that the only parking space was quite a distance from our room. As my husband had stayed at his family reunion and it was just me and our young child, I was nervous about this. I finally parked illegally so I didn't have to walk across the dark parking lot alone. We couldn't swim because the pool also made me uncomfortable with it's door standing wide open where anyone could wander in. My son couldn't get a bath because we had no hot water, so we just went to bed in our stuffy room (see previous posters' complaints about lack of temp. controls). I realize the room was inexpensive, but the wiring and security issues were totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: A room in another hotel is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mfamilytravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chicagoland - Countryside
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview/Chicago Area
6.7 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Countryside
Holiday Inn Countryside
#2 of 2 in Countryside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Lyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Lyons

Property: Rodeway Inn Lyons
Address: 8640 Ogden Ave, Lyons, IL 60534-1039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lyons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Lyons 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn Lyons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Lyons Hotel Lyons
Lyons Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing