We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few good races...that's about it.”
Review of Rockford Speedway

Rockford Speedway
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Loves Park
Attraction details
Beloit, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A few good races...that's about it.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Rockford Speedway is a short track (~1/4 mile) for racing all types of cars from road runners to late models. Have been there several times (with family) and I should say up front that I'm not really a racing fan, hardcore or otherwise, this was just something to do. Sometimes the races at RS are really exciting, and sometimes really super boring and completely uneventful. The majority of nights tend toward the latter.

Best part: Trailer races of destruction (regular and figure 8, twice a year) are pretty fun to watch. Tickets aren't too expensive and it's easy to get to, but try not approaching directly from the west (down by Kohl's) to avoid six degrees of traffic light hell. The east or Perryville Rd. is probably best.

Worst parts: 1. The bathrooms. Terrible. Not clean in any way. Small. Smelly. Crowded. Look as if built as an after thought. 2. The crowd. Sometimes terribly rude with smoking and obnoxiously drunk. 3. Food. Food is a little on the expensive side for the mediocrity of it. 4. Seating. Most is general, choose your section, unbacked bleacher seating, which gets uncomfortable quickly - and the night may be 3-4 hours long. Bring a seat cushion if stiff metal seating bothers you, and don't be afraid to get up and stretch frequently. It's also very loud at times. Bring ear plugs for your family. They do sell them there (no assurance of availability), but last I saw they were a dollar a pair. You can get them much cheaper at an outside store. Also, as the night goes on, it can get cold, so dress appropriately for weather as the place is outdoors. Parking is also difficult at times, in the grass lot out front. Long walk to the door. Get there early for a better spot.

All in all, a trailer race night is probably the best entertainment value for the money, and still tolerable for non-fans also. Although, to see this event, you may have to sit through 3 hours of boring races with one crack up which takes a half hour to clean up. It's not Le Mans, that's for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fun night out...sort of”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is definitely a fun evening out for families but a bit on the pricey side. Do your research ahead of time to save money. Smoking is the biggest pain to deal with and second would be the bathrooms. We have a rule that everyone must use the bathroom BEFORE we leave our house and hopefully that will last them throughout.

On Dollar beer night it should also have dollar soft drinks, I am NOT a fan of having to spend more money to NOT drink than to be drinking alcohol.

The kids had a blast for the most part of the races but it can be a long evening and all 3 were ready to go halfway through.

All in all, you will have fun if you go on a night when you can save a good deal, eat ELSEWHERE, don't use the bathrooms!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichellesCharmWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun night”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I love going to the speedway. It is a. It pricey if you are taking a family. Also food is kind of expensive, so I recommend eating at home and getting the necessities at the speedway. Other than that it is VERY loud and smelly. If a car does a burnout the is the smoke you are breathing. Other than that lots of fun with a bunch of weekly special events

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Short Track”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a Rockford area resident since 3/99, my family started going to the Rockford Speedway about 4 years ago. We love going! Its a great time, the family section is definitely the place to sit. Great views from nearly every seat in the house. I would definitely give a 5 rating if the following issues could be resolved permanently. 1) Restrooms - the restrooms are not super. Typically, I use the restroom before we leave the house and go AFTER I get home from the races. The few times I've used the restrooms they are not overly clean and they smell. 2) Smoking in the family area. - sometimes (not all the time) I've had a person sit in the "Family Section" and smoke and drink. Being a NON-Drinker and NON-Smoker, this is really annoying and infringes upon my families experiences. Most of the time I don't have issues, but I've had a few. Overall the experiences are VERY GOOD. We love the entertainment. Races to watch: Figure 8, Trailer Race and Green Mamba appearance are our families favorites besides the "regular races".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A lot of fun for the family to see & experience amateur racing. The trailer races are the best and certain nights there are fireworks. Definitely a must do!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockford Speedway also viewed

 

Been to Rockford Speedway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing