We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy has really hit this poor little town”
Review of Long Grove

Long Grove
Attraction details
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Economy has really hit this poor little town”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Long Grove is struggling to keep it together. It is sad to see that the economy has taken its toll on this poor little destination spoke. Many of the stores have gone under and left. They still continue to have festivals, which are ok but it isn't the same without all the retailers. If you are driving a distance, it may not be worth your while. Not much to see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Agilemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    25
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Strawberry, antique or a beautiful day”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

So much fun during strawberry fest and Apple fest, before Christmas, but on a beautiful day anytime of year it is fun to shop from store to store for unique finds and original art. Great food at restaurants but also to carry home from the Country Store, Confectionery or bakery.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaunaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
“Long Grove = Long Past Best (For Now)”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Last time I went I was shocked by how quiet it was. Then I realized a whole buch of shops had closed. Time has been and gone for this little village unfortunately. Too many luxury items or non-essentials in a recession mean that for now there are many empty lots. Maybe when the economy gets better then Long Grove will see busy streets and full buildings again.

Pro's are that they have plenty of festivals throughout the year and is still a nice change down from the craziness of your average shopping areas.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too many vacant storefronts”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I went there with a friend today after not visiting for over a year. I was so saddened to see many of the storefronts vacant. We enjoyed a great lunch at the Long Grove Cafe on a beautiful day, but if it weren't for that, the trip would have been a big disappointment. At least it was only a 10 minute drive from my friend's house. Too many of my favorite shops have left. I won't be going back there anytime soon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hrchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A quaint country village that's had better days”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have lived less than a mile from the main crossroads of town for 40 years, and this "frou-frou" town of tea rooms and quilt shops has seen better days. The classic Farm Store, ice cream shop, pet boutique and the Apple Haus and Bakery have all closed. in recent years. Maybe it can come back - but I haven't wanted to be here much lately, though.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joecompute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Grove also viewed

Long Grove, Lake County
Long Grove, Lake County
 
Buffalo Grove, Lake County
Buffalo Grove, Lake County
 

Been to Long Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing