We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midwestern University Interview” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay Inn Lombard

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stay Inn Lombard
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Certificate of Excellence
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Midwestern University Interview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

If you have an interview at Midwestern University... this is your place! Rooms are your normal Hampton quality. However, they have a Midwestern University rate that is unbeatable! It was near 40% discount ($60 range). Breakfast included scrambled eggs and ham and everything at the breakfast was great quality. They offer a shuttle service to and from the University til about 3 PM. My interview went past 3:30 and they happily made an extra trip out for me. Great service, great facility, and great location!

  • Liked — Midwestern University rate!
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank netvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    106
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
73
31
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

The strength of the wireless internet connection on the 4th floor is close to useless. I had better luck connecting to the signal of the Marriott next door.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BobinSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We had a good stay at the Hampton Inn Lombard. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable, though a bit on the smaller side. The breakfast was a bit disappointing; the hot item on one day was a greasy bacon/cheese on a biscuit on one day and cold/stale waffles (not freshly made like most hotels) on the other. Despite this we were satisfied with our choice and would stay again if the price was right.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank cybertraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

We booked this on priceline and were worried when we read the reviews. But the rooms are really nice; the comforters looked brand new (and you could tell they were clean because they were white). The carpet looked new and the hotel was getting ready to get all the upholstery and carpet shampooed. I had no complaints about the room and I'm pretty picky. The breakfast was great. There is a mall and a lot of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank MidMissouriTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

At the 2.5 star level on priceline I have gotten used to variable quality levels but this is one of the best of that category. I was hoping for the nearby Hyatt Place or Residence Inn but the Hampton Inn proved worthy for a basic place to stay overnight.

Location is pretty easy to find and is close enough to shopping and restaurants. I haven't stayed at a Hampton Inn for maybe 12 years and I was expecting the same bland room I remembered. What I got was a lot more than I expected. As you would expect of a property over 20 years old, it has been renovated. Outside it is nothing special but inside it is clean, fresh, comfortable. The front desk staff is as friendly and cheerful as I have ever experienced. The nonsmoking room was clean and bright. As stated before in other reviews there was no fridge, microwave, or pool, but the room was comfortable and they had a nice breakfast buffet. There is one computer terminal in the lobby which is convienent for a quick check of your email but some lady was letting her brat kids play solitare without regard for others. Shame on the staff for allowing that and not putting a time limit of maybe 5 or 10 min on its use.

In conclusion, I could stay there again but I will probably pay a little more for one of the many 3 star hotels in the area. A swim and soak in the hot tub was missing from this stay.

  • Liked — clean comfortable room
  • Disliked — lack of a swimming pool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ready.Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

I've never before stayed at a Hamptom Inn that didn't ahve a refrigerator (and usually a microwave). This is just a room--a decent sized motel room, but no fridge or microwave. If you're in Lombard for business for a day or two, it will do. It's clean and quiet, but you could get the same room anywhere. You also need to know that Lombard is in the western suburbs--you will need to rent a car to get anywhere (even to go into Lomard to get a train downtown). It's very close to Yorktown (a large shopping center) and some chain restaurants, like Buca de Beppo, Fridays, etc. Although Oakbrook is in its title, it's not in Oakbrook--not far away, but farther west from Chicago. Public transportation in the Western suburbs isn't that great.

If you're on vacation in Chicago, spend the extra money and stay downtown. Daily parking downtown is horrendously expensive and public transportation is cheap and easy to get anywhere. There's not much to see or do in the western suburbs and if you want to go to Cantigny or Brookfield Zoo, take a tour bus! Put what you will save from not renting a car and paying for daily parking toward a hotel and you can afford to stay downtown, where there are plenty of things to do, neighborhoods to explore and great restaurants.

  • Liked — The rooms are very quiet
  • Disliked — I know Chicago and wanted to be in Lombard, but for a tourist visiting Chicago, this would be a bad choice.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ceallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

Hotel was great!! Comfortable and clean. Had a great impression of the hotel till I recieved my bill. Calling from here to Ontario, Canada cost an average of $4.50 a minute! Was informed by the desk clerk that the hotel's markup on telephone rates from AT&T was 45%! Not impressed.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and comfort of the beds
  • Disliked — Phone Charges
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allison_b007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lombard
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lombard - Oakbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lombard
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Inn Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Inn Lombard

Property: Stay Inn Lombard
Address: 222 E 22nd St, Lombard, IL 60148-6142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lombard
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lombard
#3 Business Hotel in Lombard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Inn Lombard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stay Inn Lombard is conveniently located near a plethora of restaurants and shopping. It is an ideal choice when visiting Lombard, Downers Grove, or Oak Brook areas. Whether you are traveling on business, attending a family function or vacationing you will love our award winning customer service and accommodations. Come for the comfort and stay for the smiles. All guest rooms include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Stay Inn Lombard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Inn Lombard Hotel Lombard
Hampton Inn Lombard
Lombard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing