We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean motel-type room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A clean motel-type room.”
Reviewed November 24, 2007

I've never before stayed at a Hamptom Inn that didn't ahve a refrigerator (and usually a microwave). This is just a room--a decent sized motel room, but no fridge or microwave. If you're in Lombard for business for a day or two, it will do. It's clean and quiet, but you could get the same room anywhere. You also need to know that Lombard is in the western suburbs--you will need to rent a car to get anywhere (even to go into Lomard to get a train downtown). It's very close to Yorktown (a large shopping center) and some chain restaurants, like Buca de Beppo, Fridays, etc. Although Oakbrook is in its title, it's not in Oakbrook--not far away, but farther west from Chicago. Public transportation in the Western suburbs isn't that great.

If you're on vacation in Chicago, spend the extra money and stay downtown. Daily parking downtown is horrendously expensive and public transportation is cheap and easy to get anywhere. There's not much to see or do in the western suburbs and if you want to go to Cantigny or Brookfield Zoo, take a tour bus! Put what you will save from not renting a car and paying for daily parking toward a hotel and you can afford to stay downtown, where there are plenty of things to do, neighborhoods to explore and great restaurants.

  • Liked — The rooms are very quiet
  • Disliked — I know Chicago and wanted to be in Lombard, but for a tourist visiting Chicago, this would be a bad choice.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ceallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    107
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
73
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Hotel was great!! Comfortable and clean. Had a great impression of the hotel till I recieved my bill. Calling from here to Ontario, Canada cost an average of $4.50 a minute! Was informed by the desk clerk that the hotel's markup on telephone rates from AT&T was 45%! Not impressed.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and comfort of the beds
  • Disliked — Phone Charges
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison_b007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We had reserved a room with two double beds and a rollaway via the Internet. When we arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk said that they could not provide a rollaway in any room due to fire regulations. Fortunately, the manager happened to be there. She offered a second room at a sunstantially reduced rate. No arguments; no disputes from the manager.

The location of the hotel is five minutes away from Oak Brook and about five minutes away from the Eisenhower Expressway taking you into the city.

Despite positive but somewhat skeptical reviews, it appears the hotel rooms were recently updated (beds and linens). The public hallways were a bit tired, but no complaints. The complementary breakfast was below average - but it was free.

Good experience.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJ_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
444 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

In July 2006 we stayed at the Hampton Inn in Lombard for two nights. Large rooms, great beds and pillows, clean, professional staff and good breakfast. We would definately stay here again and enjoyed the consistency of a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardeeville, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Just stayed at this hotel and found it to be well maintained and welcoming. Decor was nice. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were excellent, with some for those who prefer firm and some for those who prefer soft. Temperature control worked well. Bathroom was clean.

I especially liked the idea of having photos next to your room numbers to give you a visual reminder. After traveling a lot, you can forget your room number but the photo is easier to remember after a long day.

It wasn't difficult to make room for the sofa bed and the chair at the desk was nicely upholstered.

Breakfast went smoothly, although the lobby can get a little crowded if lots of folks decide to eat at the same time. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank schrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2002

I am currently staying at the Hamptons and will be here for about a week. So far, everything is okay. Service at the front desk depends on who is there and whether ppl are there, but the weekend crew are friendly and helpful enough.

Decent sized rooms, and the bathrooms are nice. Just wish that there was a fan in there as well. Also, the water seems to take a while to heat up. Aside from that, it's still nicer than a motel.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lombard
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lombard
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lombard - Oakbrook
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard

Property: SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Address: 222 E 22nd St, Lombard, IL 60148-6142 (Formerly Stay Inn Lombard)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lombard
#3 Business Hotel in Lombard
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lombard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier choices for Chicago, Lombard, or Oakbrook hotels. Welcome to the SureStay Plus℠ Hotel Chicago Lombard. The hotel is located near major corporate companies and businesses. We are conveniently located between the Chicago OHare and Midway Airports. Downtown Chicago and its major attractions such as Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile are less than 25 miles away. Other nearby attractions and points of interest include the Morton Arboretum, Lynfred Winery, Lombard Historical Society, Fashion Outlet Malls, Cantigny Park and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Inn Lombard Hotel Lombard
Hampton Inn Lombard
Lombard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing