We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Barbeque this side of Alabama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Dearborn Heights
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Barbeque this side of Alabama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My hsuband and I were very hungry - it was very late when we arrived to our hotel. Luckily we stumbled upon Famous Dave's. The staff was mostly friendly but not overly impressive. The fodd however was absolutley outstanding. NO question about it the best barbecue I have ever eaten. I highly recommend it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catlapinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hughes Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not the best Famous Dave's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have eaten at 3 differant Famous Dave's restaurant's in Indiana, Illinios, Iowa. By far the restaurant in Council Bluffs, Iowa was the best. The restaurant in Lombard was next. The Lombard location had very good tasting smoked meat but what you paid for here couldn't hold a candle to Iowa. For the price of a 2 meat combo in Lombard you can get a 3 meat meat combo in Iowa and you don't have to pay extra for the corn on cobb. All in all the Lombard restaurant is well worth visting, you will get full. But for a $22.00 meal you should get a doggie bag to take home with you. I guess it's the location (Chicago Area) for the higher price for less food???

PS: The Famous Dave's in South Bend, Indiana sucked, the worst ribs that ever past by my lips.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food is great here and always has been at Famous Dave's that I've been to. The service was pretty slow and not very attentive however which was unfortunate. They are located right in the Yorktown Center mall but they have their own entrance so you don't have to walk through the mall if you don't want to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mono1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Better Than Texas Barbecue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place had the best ribs and cornbread I ever ate! We are from Texas and this was WAY better than Texas barbecue!!!! A must to all travelers--try FAMOUS DAVE'S!!! You won't regret it!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nooxfordforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in the Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Eat here about once a month to get my BBQ fix. Staff is friendly and the food is constantly good. Prices are commensurate with quality and quantity.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scurvy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Lombard, DuPage County
Lombard, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing