We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Families Favorite”
Review of Route 66 Cafe

Route 66 Cafe
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Litchfield
Restaurant details
Midwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Families Favorite”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This isn't a fancy place, but it is the best food in town..if I ask my kids where they want to go eat ,it is this place. They have all kinds of restaurants to go to in Litchfield, Hillsboro, Mt. Olive and Carlinville, but they will pick this place.
Food is excellent, Breaded Tenderlion is my favorite. Its real food and not some frozen crispy crunchy crap. You bite into it and you will taste and see the meat.
People there are down to earth good hearted people. They make you feel at home. If you want fancy overpriced food then don't come here. If you want good home cooking then come on in.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jedMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you want to eat where the locals eat, this is it.”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you can find a parking place, the visit is worth it. They have the best taco salad in the county. The lunch specials are always good too. It's all good!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank spanky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ugh!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This place has a nice name, but to be frank with you, it's a dump. The place is absolutely filthy. Napkin dispensers that got cleaned just last July 1998. Greasy everything. Marginal food that would be fine if you have the stomach of a billy goat. Shabby decor. I don't know who owns this place, but they REALLY need to close it down for a couple of weeks, paint everything in sight inside and out, take a sponge and a bucket of Pine-Sol, and scrub down EVERYTHING IN SIGHT! I was in the Army and can eat anything in any atmosphere, but this place is stretching it. I can't recommend anything in it, unless you like sleazy dives. yes, it's that bad. Get to scrubbing, guys! Use Lysol! Buy some paint brushes! Clean up that rock pile you refer to as a parking lot!

Helpful?
2 Thank GaryH0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
186 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great food at great prices”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

we eat here on a regular basis. there food is always good and hot, not real fancy but just a place to get home cooked food, alot of the locals eat there every day, alot of people dont know the restaurant is down the road, no signs in litchfield to direct people there but it is on old rt. 66. they have good taco salads and chef salads, and soups, just a good place to get a good meal!! try it!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Looks more like a garage on the outside than a restaurant, I had second thoughts about entering this place, but I was hungry so we decided to give it a try. the decor is spartan but the place is clean and the staff is friendly. as it was Sunday the special was all you can eat fried chicken for $6.50, the waitress recommended it so we gave it a try. while waiting for our chicken (takes about 20 min. cooked to order) we noticed that the few customers there ( it was early-4pm) were locals and usually that means good food. well the locals in Litchfield are spot on. our meals included soup or salad, chicken, and 2 sides. the soup and salad were so-so. the entrees arrived hot from the kitchen. A breast, wing,and 2 legs, the waitress asked if I would like to order more chicken now so that I would not have to wait for a refill. I'm from the south and was raised on southern fried chicken, but no matter where you are from this is good fresh chicken. the mashed potatoes were just like mom used to make with a surprisingly delicious white gravy and green beans seasoned with pork. to sum it up it's great food, dirt cheap

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 Cafe also viewed

 
Litchfield, IL
 

Been to Route 66 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing