We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Litchfield
none
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best value in the area”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Not the nicest place, but, the cheapest. What do you want for 39 bucks?????? I stay there all the time, not because I need the cleanest place, but because it's 39 bucks. If concerned about cost, stay here. It is decent and gets the job done.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frmertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aric P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
We are pleased this guest enjoyed his stay at our property, and we hope he returns soon again. We have installed new bed toppers, carpet and curtains in our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    9
    4
    21
See reviews for
13
8
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This isn't the Hilton motel chain. If you've ever stayed at a 'Best Value' before, this one is in line with the rest I've stayed at. Clean, with more perks than a Motel 6, but likely lacking in the 'appearance' area.
Lots of room for truck/large vehicle parking. Our first issue was with the price. A sign outside just said "$36." Turns out that was the 'weekly' rate, the real rate starts at $39, the same as the Super 8 across the street.
No issues with the room, clean, with a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, with everything plugged into one power strip. All doors faced the outside, but the outside was enclosed with clear shutters that could be opened/closed depending on the weather, something I'm surprised I don't see more of. One downside was the enclosed staircase seemed to be the designated smoking area.
Basic breakfast in the AM, two 'name brand' cereals, toast, juice/coffee.
Because of the 'misleading sign, I would try the Super 8 next time for the same price. The real question is where I would stay the 3rd time?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aric P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
WE are pleased this guest had a great experience at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2009

The lobby was very clean and the owners were very pleasant, But the motel was very run down. There were buggers or whatever you call it on the bathroom wall. the floor in the bathroom was sticky when you walked on it. Bad odor in the room. The reason we ended up staying is because it was late and we paid for the room and then went right away over to mcdonalds to get supper and eat it in the room. We should have just gotten our money back right away but we didnt want our food to get cold. My husband woke up at 2:30 AM - when he turned on the lights bugs were crawling around on the phone and so we decided to get on the road - so we made some coffee to drink first. When we saw cock roaches coming out of the coffee pot as it started brewing - thats when we decided to get out of there as soon as possible. Never again in Litchfield, Ill.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Litchfield hotels

Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

You get what you pay for, so don't expect a lot here, just a bare bones room to sleep in. We only stayed here because we had no choice, the other hotels were filling up and we couldn't get a room for 5.

The rollaway bed had a blanket with a few cigarette holes in it, and the window didn't have a lock on it (ground floor), so they put a wood bar in the window for us. The motel is located next to a cinema, and people were leaving the last show until midnight, so we heard a ton of car doors until after midnight, and a couple irritating motorcycles as well. The heater was loud and the thermostat didn't work well, and it was either too hot or too cold in the room. And some rooms are smoking, so even though ours was non-smoking, the hallways smelled like smoke.

This motel has two buildings, one with outside doors, and one with inside doors. We were in the one with the inside doors.

The full continental breakfast was a surprise, though, and had more than enough choices to fill up before hitting the road again, and served in the nice, clean lobby. And the cost for 5 people, with a rollaway bed? $59. Not bad, but we would have gladly paid $109 to stay at the Hampton or Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sellacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed here in June 2008. Prices were very reasonable and rooms clean, comfortable and well equipped.

  • Liked — Price and value
  • Disliked — upstairs room, no Internet access in room but was available in lobby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank potter660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2006

The family that runs the inn was most pleasant. However, the photos on the website were deceiving. The hotel was extremely run down. Hallways, rooms, and *clean* linens smelled like stale cigarette smoke. Carpet/cloth-covered furniture was stained. Bathroom/ceiling had severe water damage. Shower spout came to chest level. Toilet ran...and ran...and ran.... Vanity barely attached to wall. Mini fridge never worked. Box spring was made of two-by-fours. Half the lights were burnt out. Corporate gives the franchise "four checks," or the highest rating. We shudder to think what Best Value's standard is for "one check." If you dare stay/sleep, we recommend buying flip flops and $2.88 towels from the WalMart across the street first.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 12, 2005

The pictures on the internet are deceiving!!! The "Gardens" bar/lounge portion was torn down and is no longer at the hotel. The rooms are in fair shape, however they have a faint smell of cigarette smoke....even the non-smoking rooms. The hallway carpet is an ugly green color straight out of the 70's. The ice machine was leaking all over the floor making a huge puddle. The hotel was worth the $54 we paid, but the pictures lead us to believe it was better than it turned out to be. I wouldn't stay at this particular hotel unless there were no others hotel rooms open.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Litchfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Litchfield
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Litchfield West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Litchfield
Hampton Inn Litchfield
#1 of 7 in Litchfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
7.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel & Conference Center
11.9 mi away
Super 8 Staunton
Super 8 Staunton
#1 of 1 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 224 North Ohren Lane, Litchfield, IL 62056
Location: United States > Illinois > Litchfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Litchfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Building One is 2 story exterior corridor; Building Two is 2 story interior corridor. Restaurants and lounges nearby. Gas and diesel nearby. Westside Cinema is behind property, Walgreens is in front of property. Guest laundry. FREE guest breakfast and wi-fi. FREE parking for cars/trucks/buses. I-55 exit 52. Near Lake Lou Yeager. In front of historic US 66, the "Mother Road." South of Springfield IL, North of St. Louis MO, on I-55. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing