We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German Food”
Review of The Bavarian Lodge

The Bavarian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Lisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: American, Austrian, German, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: One of Chicago's best places for German dining, coupled with a beer selection that is truly second to none. Rated one of the fifty best "Beer Restaurants" in the world by RateBeer, we feature 39 drafts and over 200 distinctive beer selections in bottles, along with a wine list and full bar selection.Our family has been serving the best German fare in Chicagoland since 1986, and has since developed one of the finest beer selections in all of Chicagoland. We're about honest home-cooked food served in a casual, warm, cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Stop in and see why we're one of the most popular German restaurants and premier beer destinations in the Chicago area. Pay us a visit and we're sure it won't be your last time stopping in.
Ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good German Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for business I've actually ben here a couple of times. Extensive menu, great schnitzel and a very wide selection of beer. The place is a lot bigger than it looks. If you like German food try it out. Oh, the Apple Strudel is amazing! Try it out!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 88FFG93OSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    59
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great beer and menu selection. Wonderful German food. We decided on the "make your own combo entrées" with the Viennese-style, breaded, farm-raised, antibiotic-free, premium Schnitzels.
So between us we tried various Schnitzels and sausages. All great tasting and nice sized portions. Great selection of sides ranging from sauerkraut, red cabbage, creamed spinach, mashed potatoes and dumplings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midwesterncanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“German Food at its Best!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Bavarian Lodge is a great place for feasting on German food. Our table had an array of schnitzels and loved them all. Very large portions, prepared to perfection, great sides, huge selection of beers, great decor/atmosphere, reasonable prices. Simply one of the best German restaurants around!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BearForceOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where the Customer is Never Right”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Reviews on here dating back to 2009 talk about how rude the management is.

I was shocked upon a recent visit to find that nothing has changed. Our minor issue was met with attitude and the night was ruined after our out-of-town guest was personally insulted by the management.

Not recommended for groups or tourists.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Beer, Great German Food!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

One of the best locations for beer variety and choices. Their list of draft beers is changing all the time and they have more choices that about 95% of all restaurants. If your looking for great German Food, this is ALSO the place! Excellent. If your not looking for german food they have other options but why go to a German restaurant and order a Cheeseburger? That would be like going to a seafood restaurant and ordering the meatloaf?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtechman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bavarian Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Bavarian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing