We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant be near rope tow without ticket?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Lakes Ski Area

Four Lakes Ski Area
Lockport, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cant be near rope tow without ticket?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The bottom of the hill is fenced off to anyone without a ticket, I found out the hard way, that my 6 year old kids had to fend for themselves on the rope tow. When I asked the gentleman checking the tickets at the gate check if I can help my kids learn how to use the rope tow, he told me that I would be a liability and he wouldn't let me go, asked if someone is there to show them, he said they should have taken a class. Then when my kids skis fell off, he made me stand and watch as my kid walked with one ski to the gate.
Save your $28, just give it to your kid, he'll be much happier.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank T0MASZ_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,004 reviews
567 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,170 helpful votes
“It's ok for the the beginner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I used to live in Four Lakes. Their skiing area is fine for the extreme beginner or for somebody who doesn't want to drive north four hours. There are always lots of kids in the snow boarding area. If you go through the park district in Naperville you get (4) one-hour group lessons plus ski and boot rental for around $100.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Considering the location, great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

If you don't want to drive very far, and you have a new skier or someone who wants to learn, it's perfect! It's certainly not the alps but great for newer skiers or when you are looking to do something close in the dead of winter!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellcomm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Four Lakes is great for what it is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just love Four Lakes! It is a very small hill with tow ropes, but the spirit there is great, they have good equipment and a fun jumps for boarders. They have a nice pub for drinks after being on the slopes and the kids can have a great day there skiing safely. Instructors are wonderful and very patient. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank scheidelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, IL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Skiing in Lisle?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Four Lakes is a great place to learn how to ski or snow board before you go to a "real" place. The rope tows are a little brutal but consider it part of an upper body work out. Instructors and staff are knowledgable patient. The Pub has great PIZZA!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Lakes Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Four Lakes Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing