We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snowshoeing”
Review of Morton Arboretum

Morton Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Lisle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only 25 miles west of Chicago, there's something for everyone in all four seasons at The Morton Arboretum. Whether you seek a quiet hike in the woods or an active family day out, The Morton Arboretum offers a wide variety of fun activities, events, tours, and classes for all ages and interests. Here you'll find an oasis of 16 miles of hiking trails and nine miles of paved roads, perfect for hiking, running, biking or just exploring. From a guided tour on an open-air tram to the award-winning Children's Garden and Maze Garden, to seasonal exhibits and lunch in The Ginkgo Restaurant overlooking Meadow Lake, the Arboretum is a unique place to explore, discover, escape, and connect with trees and nature.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Snowshoeing”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent time! So much fun. We went with my parents who are in their 70's and my two teenage daughters. The girls said the cross country skiing looked a bit more fun. It was a winter wonderland and it was magical. Eat at the cafe after, they have delicious food.

Helpful?
Thank karebear6728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    121
    25
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chicagoland, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Illumination$$$”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a lovely, very cold night for our visit. Perhaps because of the weather, we did not have any issues with crowds. As it began to snow, the whole venue took on a fairy tale atmosphere and our photos of falling flakes in the beams of light are spectacular.
The event was very well done: creative, inventive,interactive and lovely. I love any winter activity that gets us, our kids and our grandkids out of doors together. We would plan on going again each year...HOWEVER..the cost is way out of line. In this affluent area, it is difficult for people on a budget to attend events as a family. The cost of $130 for 6 adults and 4 kids was a serious issue and not one we will pay again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ivybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Illumination: Dress for the weather and come early to avoid long waits”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were astounded by the number of people who had already arrived by an hour after the 4:30 opening. We were shunted off to the far, far away parking lot and had to wait for a school bus to shuttle us to the entrance. Our wait was relatively short (10 minutes) but the folks in the long line behind us were in for some standing in the cold and dark. Once there, we were very glad to have bought tickets online. The line to purchase tickets was another long one. The bulk of the Illuminations exhibit is around the lake and it was lovely and magical. Way too crowded though. At times people were just jammed up on the sidewalk, causing some people, especially kids, to stray off the path and into mud. I can only imagine what the repair costs will be for all that trampled grass. It cost us $30 to get in and it was a relatively warm night, still, not something I would do again. Since this was the first year for this, maybe the Arboretum will manage the numbers of people there at any one time to make the experience more enjoyable. Felt really sorry for those folks with little kids.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bettywhitebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Illuminations”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The new illuminations display in artfully done. A wonderful winter nightime walk in the woods. Just bundle up! Just be advised that they close the train display at 8:30 p.m. We were too late and dissipointed. My husband asked if we could get a pass to come back to see the train display as he is a model railroad hobbiest but they refused. He was pretty upset because they told him that people "pay full price just to see the railroad" He said"That is just what I did" but they wouldnt budge. At $15 a head that is pretty stingy, especially since the earlier closing time for the railroad was not communicated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Illuminations is the latest hit”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Run, don't walk to catch Illuminations before it closes. It is an incredible laser light/ participatory show unlike any which you may have experienced. Hug a tree, sing a song, see your face illuminated ona grove of trees. These are a few of the wonders you will experience on this walk.
the Arboretum is a fabulous place to hike, play, and meditate. This show is merely icing on the caske.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Chen0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton Arboretum also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Lombard, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Morton Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing