We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morton Arboretum

Morton Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Lisle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only 25 miles west of Chicago, there's something for everyone in all four seasons at The Morton Arboretum. Whether you seek a quiet hike in the woods or an active family day out, The Morton Arboretum offers a wide variety of fun activities, events, tours, and classes for all ages and interests. Here you'll find an oasis of 16 miles of hiking trails and nine miles of paved roads, perfect for hiking, running, biking or just exploring. From a guided tour on an open-air tram to the award-winning Children's Garden and Maze Garden, to seasonal exhibits and lunch in The Ginkgo Restaurant overlooking Meadow Lake, the Arboretum is a unique place to explore, discover, escape, and connect with trees and nature.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I grew up 20 miles from here and we visited annually. Today I'm a 4 hour flight away and a visit is a rare gift!
There are trees and plants from all over the world, even when the local weather doesn't cater to this type tree, ie: coffee trees!
There are lovely areas to bring a chair and just sit and enjoy the peace of being surrounded by trees. Paths for bike riding, walking, jogging, or just go off the beaten track. Some tiny "lakes" and benches to catch your breath.
Impossible to walk the whole arboretum in a day. It's just a most relaxing area. Great gift shop with unusual products and very informative staff. If they can't answer the questions they'll send you to someone who can.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank xskywalkermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    119
    25
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a world-class asset that all will be pleased with

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stress free day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

It's all about trees! Morton Arboretum provides an excellent day or half--day out. Do allow plenty of time to really see it on foot although you can drive around, but if you do park up and take a walk. The visitor center provides information and a place to refresh when exploring both sides of the 1700 acre site, including a good choice of food and drink at reasonable prices.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SussexGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“we are local and members”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a beautiful arboretum. we live locally and are members and go several times a month. The daffodils, crabapples, magnolias and fall colors are breathtaking. they have a lovely children's garden and frequently have festivals to keep an eye out for. I think they may be fairly expensive per car - but again - we are membes so not sure. Take a drive on both sides, take a walk, look for wild flowers, blooms, birds. One of my favorite walks is in the prairie. I was not impressed last time I ate there - but that has been 3-4 years ago.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank turquoise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An oasis in a busy suburban area...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a beautiful, relaxing place. The grounds are gorgeous and the Children's Garden is not to be missed for little ones.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonnieleeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton Arboretum also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Lombard, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Morton Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing